Big names sent packing as new comers win party primaries

Kabete MP Ferdinand Waititu has registered a landslide victory over Kiambu County Governor William Kabogo ...
Kabogo to face off with Waititu as an independent candidate [PHOTO | FILE]

As the party primaries come to an end, the full extent of the casualties is now coming to the fore.

Several big names have been floored in the various political parties nomination exercises.

Kiambu Governor, William Kabogo, lost in his bid for re-election after garnering 69,916 votes against the winner, Kabete Member of Parliament, Ferdinand Waititu, who garnered 353,604 votes.  Kabogo conceded shortly after vote tallying began in Kiambu.

Gem Member of Parliament, Jakoyo Midiwo, also lost in the primaries. An ally of the National Super Alliance (NASA) leader, Raila Odinga, Midiwo was floored by Elisha Odhiambo who amassed 13,400 votes against Midiwo’s 8,950 votes. Rading Otieno was third with 1,821 votes.

In Nandi County, voters are seeking fresh blood in grassroots leadership and have rejected 23 out of 27 Members of the County Assembly.

Also losing in his bid for a Jubilee ticket was Ainabkoi MP, Samuel Chepkonga. Chepkonga, who is the chair of National Assembly’s Justice and Legal Affairs Committee, lost to William Cheptut, whose final tally was 13,685 votes. Chepkonga was closely behind with 13,556 votes.

Kajiado West MP, Moses Ole Sakuda, also lost in his bid for the Jubilee ticket. Sakuda was trounced by George Sunkuiyia, whose final tally was 10,189 votes. Sakuda garnered 7,479 votes.

In Ndhiwa Constituency, current MP, Agostino Neto, lost to Martin Peter Owino, who amassed 14,005 votes. Neto was second with 11,270 votes.

Kipkelion West MP, Jackson Rop, was trounced by Hillary Kosgey who got 13,781 votes. Rop managed to put together 11,051 votes while Magerer Lagat had 3,225.

Former radio broadcaster, Gathoni Wa Muchomba, pulled a surprise in Kiambu County to beat Woman Representative Anne Nyokabi with 374,306 against 26,768 votes.

In Nyeri County, Gichuki Mugambi was declared the winner of the Othaya Constituency Jubilee nominations. Mugambi beat his closest challenger and the incumbent Member of Parliament, Mary Wambui, after garnering 20,228 votes against 12,524 votes for Wambui.

In Mukurwe-Ini, incumbent MP, Kabando Wa Kabando, conceded defeated. Kabando on Wednesday thanked Mukurwe-Ini residents for having him for two terms, adding that he will focus on ensuring President Uhuru Kenyatta’s re-election.

In Embu, Runyenjes MP, Cecily Mbarire, was floored by the incumbent Governor Martin Wambora. Mbarire was a favourite for the seat but managed 43,509 votes against Wambora’s 60,634 votes.

In Nyandarua, Governor Daniel Waithaka was beaten by former Secretary to the Cabinet and the Head of Public Service, Francis Kimemia, who garnered 120,477 against Waithaka’s 19,607 votes.

In Nakuru, incumbent Kinuthia Mbugua is trailing former National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) chairman, Lee Kinyanjui, even as tallying continues.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Former sports CS Hassan Wario convicted over Rio games scam

Story By Sylvia Chebet
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *