Coast MPs form new party ahead of 2017 elections

Kaloleni MP Gunga Mwinga
Kaloleni MP Gunga Mwinga

A section of Coast region Members of Parliament have formed a new political party aimed at pushing their agenda ahead of the 2017 elections.

According to the MPs, the move is aimed at strengthening the region politically and giving them bargaining power at the national level.

Though the MPs could not divulge details on the new party, they stated that they are in the process of solidifying ground and seeking support from Mombasa, Kwale, Taita Taveta, Kilifi, Lamu and Tana River Counties before settling on a name and the way forward.

Speaking at Tiwi in Kwale County, the legislators said Coast region has for years been muted politically owing to the absence of a solid party which could otherwise be used as a bargaining chip for national allocations.

“We decided to come up with this movement to improve the economic and political future of the cast region.  Already, we have received backing from 13 MPs and we are in a mission to visit all the counties to seek for support from more people,” said Kaloleni MP Gunga Mwinga.

Mwinga stated that the region has been ailing politically due to divergent stands on political issues noting that one party would give the region one voice on national matters.

Kinango MP Samuel Ngozi Rai said that Coast leaders had decided to change the political landscape in the region, sentiments that were echoed by MPs Jones Mlolwa (Voi), Andrew Mwadime (Mwatate), and the initiator Hassan Mwanyoha (Matuga).

Coast region has had several attempts to form one party with past efforts failing to yield desired results.

A previous political movement spearheaded by Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro, was reportedly high-jacked by Governors who went ahead to form Jumuiya Ya County za Pwani bloc.

By Lawrence Nga’ng’a

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | WESTLANDS UNDERWORLD | Crooks, gov’t officials named in plot to grab man’s property

Story By Citizen
More by this author