Coronavirus: Uganda restricts travel from UK, US and 14 other countries

Coronavirus: Uganda restricts travel from UK, US and 14 other countries

Uganda has restricted visitors from some countries with what it terms high cases of coronavirus, including China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, South Korea, and Spain.

MAP: Coronavirus cases around the world

“Government has decided to ask travelers from the affected countries not to come to Uganda because the high cases they are reporting can easily be imported into the country,” the country’s health minister Jane Ruth Aceng said in a statement.

A revised advisory released Wednesday by the Health Ministry increased the number of high-risk countries from 7 to 16, including the United States and the UK.

The other countries include the Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Austria, and Malaysia.

In the new statement, travelers from these countries are urged to consider “postponing non-essential travel to Uganda.”

Ugandans in affected countries not exempted

Aceng said those who insist on visiting the East African nation from these countries would have to self-quarantine at their own cost for 14 days either at home or at a government facility.

Rwanda Air, Kenya Airways and Morocco’s Royal Air Maroc are among some African airlines that have suspended flights to China.

Ethiopian Airlines, however, tweeted that it will keep operating flights to China while adhering to international standards to ensure the safety of its passengers.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | EVENTS 2020 | Raila Odinga’s reflections on 2020 and expectations for 2021 228 views

Story By CNN
More by this author