Court reinstates Jubilee MPs to parliamentary committees

Court reinstates Jubilee MPs to parliamentary committees
High Court Judge John Mativo

The High Court on Wednesday temporarily reinstated four Jubilee lawmakers who had been removed from heading different National Assembly committees, pending hearing and determination of the case.

Justice John Mativo issued a stay order against the decision by Majority Chief Whip Benjamin Washiali to remove the MPs from the parliamentary committees they had been elected to head.

The four MPs; Alfed Keter (Nandi Hills), Silas Kipkoech (Moiben), David Bowen (Marakwet East) and James Gakuya (Embakasi North) had moved to court on December 27 challenging the decision to oust them, arguing that the action was unreasonable and irrational.

The Jubilee affiliated legislators also argued that due process was not followed in the making of the decision to eject them, saying they had not been given an opportunity to be heard before being removed from the committees, as required the new Standing Orders in Parliament.

Keter had been elected chair of the Labour and Social Welfare committee with Tiren set to head the Agriculture committee and Bowen the Environment and Natural Resources committee.

The four MPs are reported to have received letters from Majority Whip Washiali, removing them from parliamentary committees soon after securing their spots on the parliamentary committees.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Justin Muturi and Majority Leader Aden Duale are also listed as respondents in the legislators’ case against Hon. Washiali.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | BULLDOZERS FOR SANITIZERS | Families remain in the cold after evictions from Kariobangi sewage estate

Story By Dzuya Walter
More by this author