Tribunal stops election of NASA nominees to EALA

The Political Parties Disputes Tribunal has temporarily stopped Parliament from electing the NASA nominees to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) until a case challenging the nominations is heard and determined.

“An interim injunction is hereby granted to halt the election of persons listed in the November Notice of motion dated December 11, 2017 namely Oburu Odinga, Abubakar Zain, Beth Mutunga, Fatuma Ibrahim, Loy Mwandi Maviala, Abdikadir Aden, Norman Magaya, Kennedy Musyoka, Justus Muchoge, Jane Marwa, Angela Munyasya pending hearing of this application,” reads the order.

The tribunal’s chairman, Kyalo Mbobu, also directed that the orders be served by way of advertisement in a leading local daily newspaper.

It further directed that the matter be served upon the respondents who should appear for inter-party hearing on Monday, December 18, 2017 at 2:30pm.

Narok West parliamentary loser in the last General Election, Jimmy Parnyumbe Luka moved to the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal to challenge the EALA list of nominees given to the National Assembly by NASA.

He argues that the list, as provided by NASA, did not meet the criteria set out in the Constitution.

The respondents in the case include the nominees, Clerk of the National Assembly, Wiper party, Clerk of the Senate, Amani National Congress and ODM.

Members of Parliament were on Wednesday debating the report of the Joint Parliamentary Select committee on the election of Members to EALA. The National Assembly has until tomorrow to pick nine nominees; five from Jubilee and four from NASA to represent Kenya in the regional assembly.

MPs will vote on the Kenyan delegation to EALA through secret ballot on Thursday, December 14.


For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Former sports CS Hassan Wario convicted over Rio games scam

Story By Dzuya Walter
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *