COVID-19: Kenya’s positivity rate at 7.5% after 469 new infections recorded

COVID-19: Kenya's positivity rate at 7.5% after 469 new infections recorded
Health CS Mutahi Kagwe during a briefing on the state of coronavirus on June 16, 2020. PHOTO | COURTESY

The Ministry of Health on Tuesday announced that 469 people tested positive for COVID-19 from a sample size of 6,244 tested in the last 24 hours; this indicating a positivity rate of 7.5% with the total confirmed infections rising to 166,006.

From the cases, 363 are Kenyans while 106 are foreigners; 280 are males and 189 females, while the youngest is a two-year-old baby and the oldest is 102 years.

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe, in a statement to newsrooms, noted that 43 patients recovered from the disease; 29 from the Home-Based and Isolation Care, while 14 were discharged from various health facilities countrywide.

This now takes total recoveries to 113,917; of whom 82,806 are from Home-Based Care and Isolation while 31,111 were discharged from various health facilities.

CS Kagwe however also stated that 8 deaths were reported in the last 24 hours; 3 of them having occurred on diverse dates within the last one month while 5 are late deaths reported after conducting facility record audit in the last one month. This now pushes the cumulative fatalities to 3,021.

The 469 new cases were recorded across various counties namely: Kisumu 102, Nairobi 77, Mombasa and Kericho 27 cases each, Siaya and Busia 18 cases each, Meru 17, Kisii 16, Nyeri 14, Kitui 13, Nyamira and Kilifi 12 cases each, Nandi 11, Uasin Gishu 10, Turkana 9, Bungoma and Makueni 8 cases each, Kakamega and Kiambu 7 cases each, Nakuru and Homa Bay 6 cases each, Murang’a 5, Embu, Laikipia, Machakos and Vihiga 4 cases each, Taita Taveta, Bomet, Kajiado, Trans Nzoia and West Pokot 3 cases each, Kirinyaga, Migori and Tharaka Nithi 2 cases each, Isiolo and Marsabit 1 case each.

The 102 cases in Kisumu are from Kisumu Central (58), Kisumu East (17), Kisumu West (15), Nyando (5), Muhoroni and Seme (3) cases each and Nyakach (1).

In Nairobi, the 77 cases are from Embakasi West and Starehe (8) cases each, Kamukunji, Kibra and Mathare (6) cases each, Embakasi Central, Ruaraka, Langata and Westlands (5) cases each, Dagoretti North, Embakasi South and Makadara (4) cases each, Embakasi North and Roysambu (3) cases each, Dagoretti South and Embakasi East (2) cases each, and Kasarani (1).

In Mombasa, the 27 cases are from Mvita (12), Jomvu (6), Kisauni and Nyali (4) cases each and Changamwe (1). In Kericho, the 27 cases are from Ainamoi (16), Belgut (9) and Kipkelion East (2).

In Siaya, the 18 cases are from Alego-Usonga (12), Bondo (3), Rarieda (2), Ugenya (1). In Busia, the 18 cases are from Matayos (12), Teso North (5) and Teso South (1).

In Meru, the 17 cases are from Buuri (8), Imenti North (3), Imenti South and Tigania West (2) cases each, Imenti Central and Tigania East (1) case each. In Kisii, the 16 cases are from Kitutu Chache North (5), Nyaribari Chache (4), South Mugirango (3), Bonchari and Kitutu Chache South (2) cases each.

In Nyeri, the 14 cases are from Mathira East (4), Nyeri Central, Nyeri South and Tetu (3) cases each and Mukurweini (1). In Kitui, the 13 cases are from Kitui South (5), Kitui Central and Kitui West (3) cases each and Kitui Rural (2).

In Nyamira, the 12 cases are from Manga and Nyamira Town (6) cases each. In Kilifi, the 12 cases are from Malindi (8), Kilifi North and Magarini (2) cases each.

In Nandi, the 11 cases are from Emgwen (9), Nandi Hills and Tinderet (1) case each. In Uasin Gishu, the 10 cases are from Turbo (4), Kapseret (2), Ainabkoi, Kesses, Moiben and Soy (1) case each.

In Turkana, all the 9 cases are from Turkana West. In Bungoma, the 8 cases are from Kanduyi (6) and Tongaren (2). In Makueni, the 8 cases are from Kibwezi West (5) and Makueni (3).

In Kakamega, the 7 cases are from Navakholo (4), Malava (2) and Lurambi (1). In Kiambu, the 7 cases are from Juja and Ruiru (2) cases each, Gatundu South, Kiambaa and Limuru (1) case each.

In Nakuru, the 6 cases are from Molo and Nakuru North (2) cases each, Naivasha and Rongai (1) case each. In Homa Bay, the 6 cases are from Homa Bay Town (3), Karachuonyo, Mbita and Rangwe (1) case each.

In Murang’a, the 5 cases are from Kigumo and Murang’a South (2) cases each and Kandara (1). In Embu, all the 4 cases are from Manyatta, while in Laikipia the 4 cases are from Laikipia East and Laikipia West (2) cases each.

In Machakos, the 4 cases are from Yatta (2), Athi River and Kalama (1) case each, while the 4 cases in Vihiga are from Luanda (2), Hamisi and Vihiga (1) case each.

The 3 cases in Taita Taveta are from Voi, the 3 cases in Bomet are from Bomet East, the 3 cases in Kajiado are from Loitoktok (2) and Kajiado East (1), the 3 cases in Trans Nzoia are from Kiminini, Kwanza and Saboti (1) case each, while the 3 cases in West Pokot are from Pokot South (2) and West Pokot (1).

In Kirinyaga, the 2 cases are from Kirinyaga Central and Kirinyaga East (1) case each. In Migori, the 2 cases are from Suna East, while in Tharaka Nithi the 2 cases are from Chuka.

The case in Isiolo is from is Isiolo Town and the case in Marsabit is from Saku.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Ian Omondi
More by this author