DP Ruto rubbishes claims that the President Uhuru-led Jubilee party has kicked him out

DP Ruto rubbishes claims that the President Uhuru-led Jubilee party has kicked him out
Deputy President William Ruto addressing the media from his Karen residence on April 9, 2020. PHOTO| CITIZEN DIGITAL

Deputy President William Ruto has rubbished claims that the Jubilee Party which he formed with President Uhuru Kenyatta is edging him out.

Taking to Twitter, DP Ruto quoted an article from the Daily Nation, saying President Kenyatta could not possibly be part of the “fraudulent and illegal” plan to make changes to the Jubilee party top organ.

At the same time and without naming names, Ruto accused a cabal of political rejects, conmen and fraudsters of attempting to hijack the party.

“This is the works of political rejects, conmen & fraudsters who’s party allegiance is already elsewhere. They should give us a break and leave JP alone,” DP Ruto Tweeted.

The Daily Nation had in a story on Sunday, said that the party that Ruto helped form was being “ruthlessly snatched from him”, making him an outsider in his own party.

However, the second-in-command downplayed the claims, asking detractors to leave the JP party alone.

In a Kenya Gazette notice on April 6, 2020, the Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu had given notice of the Jubilee party’s intention to change its officials following the presentation of the list by the ruling party.

Ruto and his allies in the party opposed the names of three officials appointed by President Kenyatta to replace three others who had left after landing government jobs.

Leader of Majority in the Senate Kipchumba Murkomen on Friday termed the proposed changes as fraudulent saying he had already written to the registrar and would be reporting the matter to the DCI.

Several other legislators from Ruto’s camp wrote letters too, asking the Registrar of Political Parties to revoke the gazette notice.

They include among others; Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika, Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa, Soy MP Caleb Kositany, Langata MP Nixon Korir and Dagoretti MP John Kiarie.

The Jubilee party was set to replace Fatuma Shukri, Pamela Mutua and Veronica Maina with Lucy Nyawira Macharia, Prof Marete Marangu, Walter Nyambati, Jane Nampaso and James Waweru.

The committee currently has 13 members who were appointed by the party leader, President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The team is in charge of the day-to-day management of the party alongside the National Executive Committee.


For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Tonny Ndungu
More by this author