EACC arrests 6 top Communications Authority officials

EACC arrests 6 top Communications Authority officials
Image of handcuffs. PHOTO | COURTESY

Detectives from the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) on Thursday arrested six senior officials of the Communications Authority of Kenya (CA) over procurement irregularities.

The six include Assistant Director and Head of Procurement Joyce Nyambache Osinde and tender committee members; Stanley K. Kibe, Leo Kibet Boruett, Vincent Ngundi, Jane Jeptanui Rotich and Philip Kiplagat.

They are accused of flouting procurement regulations during the evaluation of a tender for renovation of CA’s stand at the Agricultural Society of Kenya (ASK) show.

The six were were apprehended after Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Noordin Haji gave consent for their arrest and prosecution.

“The Commission forwarded the file to the Director of Public Prosecutions on 16th January, 2019. The DPP in his letter dated 6th May, 2019 returned the file to EACC and gave consent to arraign the suspects in Court,” said EACC in a statement issued on Thursday.

Meanwhile, three more officials of the communications authority are still being sought by EACC over alleged irregularities. They include; Former Director, Consumer and Public Affairs Mutua Muthusi, tender committee member Peris Nkonge and John Omo, who is CA’s Secretary and Secretary General of the African Telecommunications Union (ATU).

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | CANCER COUNTRY | Pain of cancer patients across country [Part 1]

Story By Benjamin Muriuki
More by this author