Ekuru Aukot unveils his shadow cabinet

Ekuru Aukot unveils his shadow cabinet
Thirdway Party leader Ekuru Aukot Photo Courtesy

In Summary

  • Thirdway Party Alliance Party Leader Ekuru Aukot named a 22 member shadow cabinet on Thursday.
  • Mr. Aukot named a 22 member cabinet in similar dockets formed by President Uhuru Kenyatta on January 26.
  • Kenyans could have "three cabinets" in the coming weeks if the opposition leader Raila Odinga names his cabinet as promised by NASA CEO Norman Magaya.
  • He said that  his nominees are integral and competent people who will deliver.

Self-proclaimed official opposition leader Ekuru Aukot of the Thirdway Party Alliance Party named a 22-member shadow cabinet on Thursday with a promise to put to death “toxic politics” he claims have derailed Kenya’s development agenda.

He said that the shadow cabinet will hold the jubilee government to account.

Mr. Aukot named largely unknown cabinet members in similar dockets formed by President Uhuru Kenyatta on January 26. He described his nominees as integral and competent people.

He also named a team of advisors who will work with the cabinet secretaries.

According to the politician, the party advertised the positions and recruited competitively after considering competence, age, regional and gender balance.

NASA are also expected to name their shadow cabinet soon.

List of Mr. Aukot’s Cabinet Secretaries

Health – Beth Mbesu

Attorney General – Eunice Nganga

Water and Sanitation – Beatrice Waithera Wanjiru

Industrialisation and Enterprise – Dr. Angela Mwikali

Labour and Social Protection – Aisha Karanja

Public Service Youth and Gender – Ann Wamuyu Kimunyu

Tourism and Wildlife – Maureen Wangati

Foreign Affairs and International trade – Maueren Kemunto

Agriculture and Irrigation – Naftaly Gisore Mose

Defence – Rota Ricky Omondi

Devolution and ASAL areas – Cyprian Nyambane

Education – Newton John Omkado

Energy – John Wachira Kibui

Environment and Forestry – Jonathan Odongo

ICT – Dr. Kirimi Wanjagi

Interior and Coordination of National Government – Robert Maina

Treasury and National Planning – Conrad Were

Petroleum and Mining – Jackson Ekaru

Sports and Infrastructure – Mosin Khan

Transport and Infrastructure Development – Dominic Kipkemoi

EAC community and Northern Corridor – Winnie Muya

Lands – John Kaburu Busunki

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Wahome Gitonga
More by this author