Government appoints 342 new parastatal boards members

A past cabinet sitting
A past cabinet sitting

Cabinet Secretaries appointed 342 new board members across 87 parastatals according to a special Kenya Gazzette published on Friday, October 2nd, 2015.

Young professionals, private sector CEO’s, media and sports celebrities, PHD holders and career journalists dominate the new appointments in different parastatal boards.

The appointees’ names, designations and tenure are contained in a special gazette notice.

The appointments are in line with the Mwongozo guidelines released in March and have youthful energy has been reflected in most of the appointments.

Celebrated athlete and cross country legend Paul Tergat will serve in Brand Kenya as board member, as efforts to market Kenya reach fever pitch.

Citizen TV’s Sunday Live host and news Anchor Julie Gichuru has also been appointed to serve in brand Kenya for three years.

Marketing guru Christopher Diaz,Telcoms professional Geoffrey Shimanyula, Public relations and communications expert Catherine Kihanya and Philip Mutua kilonzo are the other names appointed into the Brand Kenya board.

Safaricom CEO Bob Collymore and Kenya Commercial Bank boss Joshua Waigara have been picked to sit in the board of Vision 2030 so as to help deliver Kenya’s vision to make Kenya a middle income country within a generation.

Vision 2030 is Kenya’s blue print for development with clear well monitored milestones to reach within specific guidelines.

Real Estate investor and enthusiast Muchai Kunyiha, Information technologist professional and Media Lab boss Juliana Rotich, General Motors MD Rita Kavashe, Ambassador Dennis Awori are the others appointed to steer the vision in the board with Collymore and Waigara.

To help in delivering well-trained journalists radio host and Radio Africa marketing manager Caroline Mutoko and celebrated journalist and Royal Media Services Chief Operating Officer Farida Karoney have been appointed to serve in the board of the Kenya Institute of Mass Communications (KIMC).

Environmental journalist and regional director of Kenyan Arid Lands Information Network James Nguo Impwi, Retired Colonel Joel Tirmet, William Odongo Adunga, KIMC Alumni, photojournalist and former Assistant minister Wycliff Osundwa, Charles Kilonzo are the other KIMC board members.

HR consultant Susan Kiama, IT expert Isaac Newton Onyango and lawyer Jacqueline Oyuyo have been appointed to the board of the Kenya Airports Authority (KAA)

Dr Francis Sang, currently serving as a County Public service board at the Nandi County Government was picked to sit in the Lapsset Corridor Development Authority Board.

Professor George Otieno Achoki, Kenya Civil Aviation Authority Mohammed Salim Bwika, JKUAT senior Mathematical statistics lecturer George Orwa, Vice Chair of Kenya Association of Manufacturers (KAM) Flora Mutahi, United Nations Data Lab manager Moses Sitati, Former Local Government PS Solomon Boit, Mona Karingi and Binti Khamadi Choyo will serve in the Export Promotion Council (EPC).

Advocate George Mose Moibi, Former Central Bank Deputy Governor Thomas Nzioki are the new additions to the board of the Capital Markets Authority (CMA).

Naima Badhawi, David Njoroge Fredrick Odhiambo, David Koross, Basra Ali and Edwin Rotich are the new board members at the Agricultural Finance Corporation (AFC). Francis Wanyonyi, lawyer Mercy Wambui, Central Bank accountant Abdinassir Hared and Advocate Martin Mugambi will be members of the Insurance tribunal.

Seasoned legal expert Ben Olunye and corporate lawyer Gabriel Njenga will join the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) board.

Kenya Cultural Centre board, Isaac Awondo, Paul Oketch, Wachira Waruru (Royal Media Services MD), Naomi Cidi, Alison Ngibuini, Nicholas Ole Moipei, Erick Kiniti, Ted Muthusi, Millicent Ogutu, Politicians Cyprian Omollo (Chemilil Sugar), Bifwoli Wakoli (Kenya Water Towers Agency), Simon Mbugua (NGO Coordination board), Boaz
Keino (Dick Wathika (Betting and Control board),

Mwongozo guidelines give criteria for appointments and reappointments to boards as well as removals, rewards and sanctions and performance management.

It also restricts length of service to six years on re-appointment.

Over 70% of the new appointees are holders of post graduate degrees.

Others picked to the betting board are Chase Bank executive Paul Njaga and billionaire Chris Kirubi’s daughter Maryanne Kirubi Musangi, who is also a banker.

In the Kenya Ferry Services Rosina Nasigha Mruttu and Ndurya Gunga Chea have been appointed to the board.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Treasury allocates Ksh 4.5 B for procurement of vaccines

Story By Benjamin Wafula
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *