Gov’t names new Board to reform Youth Fund

Gov't names new Board to reform Youth Fund

The Government has gazetted eight new board members to the Youth Enterprise Development Fund Board who will serve for a period of three years with effect from May 21st, 2016.

Hellen Omiti Machora, Caroline Amondi Oloo, James Kiiru, Julie Waweru, Suleiman Abdi Noor Ali, Faith Kibet, Juliet Nyangai and Benson Mutemi have been appointed to the board.

The Fund had been embroiled in an alleged theft scandal at the youth fund, particularly how Ksh 180 million was transferred in two tranches of Ksh 115 million and Ksh 65 million to a company identified as Quorandum Limited.

In April 2016, President Uhuru Kenyatta sacked the entire board of the National Youth Enterprise Development Fund over corruption allegations.

The kitty’s chairman Bruce Odhiambo who had resigned earlier, had his appointment officially revoked alongside those of seven other board members.

In a gazette notice dated April 8, 2016, President Kenyatta announced the revocation of the appointments at the center of a multi-million scandal at the youth fund.

“In exercise of the powers conferred to me by section 7 (3) of the State Corporations Act Cap 446, I , Uhuru Kenyatta , President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of Kenya Defence Forces, revoke the appointment of Bruce Odhiambo as the Chairman of the Board of the Youth Enterprise Development Fund,” said President Kenyatta.

Other board members who were similarly sacked included; Sella Bogonko, Paul Gathura Ng’ang’a, Sabra Omar Hussein, Jane Mutinda, Mike Wamae, Clement Ayungo and Nicholas Mwaniki.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: On Viusasa, now you can download your videos and play them back later

Maureen Murimi
Story By Maureen Murimi
More by this author