Gumbo Replaces Namwamba as Watchdog Committee Chair

Gumbo Replaces Namwamba as Watchdog Committee Chair

Gumbo garnered 13 votes to beat ODM chairman and Suba MP John Mbadi with 8 votes, Aden Abdikadir with 4 votes and Mwatate MP Andrew Mwadime with 1 vote.

The election of the new chair comes after the watchdog committee PAC was reconstituted last week after its chair Namwamba and four other members were moved to various other committees.

Kipkelion West lawmaker Jackson Rop will deputise Gumbo in the house watchdog committee.

The committee was reconstituted, following the disbandment of the watchdog committee chaired by Budalangi MP Ababu Namwamba, that was embroiled in corruption allegations and claims of doctoring reports on various probes carried out by the oversight committee.


Graft allegations against PAC members

The committee, according to house traditions  must be chaired by a member from the opposition.

5 members from the disbanded PAC ; Namwamba, his then deputy Cecily Mbarire, James Bett of Kesses, Edick Anyanga of Nyatike, Nakuru Town West’s Samuel Arama and Ibrahim Abbas of Ijara were blacklisted, after being adversely linking to graft allegations.

They were however absorbed into other house committees, and their slots in PAC filled by Dr. Eseli Simiyu of Tongaren, Timothy Bosire of Kitutu Masaba, Kieni’s Kanini Kega, Kangogo Bowen of Marakwet West and the newly Elected Chair Gumbo.

The Public Accounts Committee is the house watchdog committee, and its key task is scrutinising how the national government and its agencies use resources allocated, and ensure prudent management of taxpayers’ money.

By Maureen Murimi and Francis Gachuri 


For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Different journeys, same destiny: The story of top two candidates | KCSE 2020 |

Story By Citizen
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *