IEBC Commissioners To Know Fate In 10 Days

Muturi directed the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee to scrutinise the petition filed by Wafula Buke, seeking the removal of IEBC Chairman Isaack Hassan and eight commissioners for “gross violation of the Constitution and incompetence in the way it handled the March 2013 General Election”.


The eight commissioners include Lilian Mahiri Zaja (vice -chairperson), Abdullahi Sharawe, Thomas Letangule, Mohamed Alawi Hussun, Albert Camus Onyango Bwire, Kule Galma Godana, Yusuf Nzibo and Muthoni Wangai.


The committee, Chaired by Ainabkoi MP Samuel Chepkonga was directed to scrutinise the petition within the next 14 days and file its report.


The National Assembly will then debate the report and pass a resolution within 10 days of receipt.


On Tuesday, the Jubilee administration held a Parliamentary Group meeting chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House Nairobi where they said they would not entertain any talks with the Opposition regarding the proposed removal of IEBC commissioners.


The meeting was attended by 202 members of the National Assembly and over 30 Senators.


By Beth Nyaga

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Former sports CS Hassan Wario convicted over Rio games scam

Story By Citizen
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *