Jubilee Party primaries cancelled in six other counties, bringing total to 17

Jubilee Party
Jubilee Party Secretary General Raphael Tuju speaking at Jubilee Party headquarters in Nairobi. Photo/

Jubilee Party on Friday, April 21, evening cancelled nominations in six other counties after an earlier report by the National Elections Board, that it had postponed the party’s primaries in 12 counties.

The six new counties, whose Jubilee nomination exercise has been cancelled, include Kiambu, Murang’a, Nyeri, Laikipia, Meru and Nyandarua.

Jubilee Party, through its Secretary General Raphael Tuju, had earlier Friday called off primaries in Nakuru, Narok, Kajiado, Bomet, Elgeyo Marakwet, Nandi, Kericho, Uasin Gishu, Trans Nzoia, Embu and Baringo Counties.

While admitting of challenges in today’s (Friday, April 21) primaries, Tuju indicated that after consultations with the Jubilee leadership, the party will announce new dates soon.

This comes even as confusion marred the process from dawn with poll officials in the affected counties with reports of irregularities in the distribution of ballot papers and delays of delivery of voting materials.

The party now says it will take all the necessary measures to avoid a repeat of the same before announcing the new dates.

“We still have the option of Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday to complete the process,” said National Elections Board Chair, Andrew Musangi.

Tuju further was keen to note that the party was using its membership register and that the IEBC register was just to verify the voter’s polling station.




For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEBS MD says no mercury found in sugar

Brian Okoth
Story By Brian Okoth
More by this author