Kabete Mini Polls Countdown: Kabete Constituency Overview

Kabete Mini Polls Countdown: Kabete Constituency Overview

This constituency was split in 2012 producing Kikuyu Constituency and Kabete constituency which were previously one electoral area. The split was necessitated by the need to create better representation with the growth of population within the constituency.

The immediate previous Member of Parliament for Kabete Constituency was George Muchai. Muchai was assassinated in Nairobi on February 7, 2015.

Kabete Constituency Overview

Constituency No:  0119

County: Kiambu

Population: 140,427 (National 2009)

Area: 60.20 Sq. Km

No. of County Assembly Wards:  5


Previous Voting Patterns

Members of Parliament

1963 – Joseph Kararahe Gatuguta – KANU

1969 – Joseph Kararahe Gatuguta – KANU (One-party system)

1974 – Amos Ng’ang’a – KANU (One-party system)

1979 – Amos Ng'ang'a – KANU (One-party system)

1980 – Charles Njonjo – KANU – By-elections (One-party system)

1983 –  Peter Kabibi Kinyanjui – KANU (One-party system)

1988 –  Peter Kabibi Kinyanjui – KANU (One-party system)

1992 – Paul Kibugi Muite – Ford-K

1997 – Paul Kibugi Muite – Safina

2002 – Paul Kibugi Muite – Safina

2007 – Lewis Nguyai Nganga – PNU

2013 – George Muchai – TNA (Jubilee Coalition)

By-elections for the Kabete Constituency Member of National Assembly and Oloolua Ward Member of County Assembly will be held on Monday, May 04, 2015

The delivery of nomination papers to IEBC took place on 6th and 7th April 2015. The official campaign period will commence on 8th April 2015 and end on 2nd May 2015.

Kabete constituency in Kiambu County has a total of 62,454 registered voters.

The Kabete MP seat fell vacant following the deaths of Hon.GeorgeMuchai.

In Kabete by-elections of 2015, the candidates cleared are: Ferdinard Ndung'u Waititu of the Jubilee Alliance Party, George Mungai Waiguru (an Independent Candidate), PDU's Isaiah Gichu Ndirangu, John Wamagata of Safina, Narc-Kenya's Kavore Kariuki, Kirirowa Ngugi of the Democratic Party (DP), NVP's Newton Njenga, Paul Kariuki Wandere (PPK) and ODM's Wilson Karanja Kamau.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | BULLDOZERS FOR SANITIZERS | Families remain in the cold after evictions from Kariobangi sewage estate

Story By Citizen
More by this author