Kenya waives visa requirement for South Sudan citizens

Kenya waives visa requirement for South Sudan citizens
President Uhuru Kenyatta receives his South Sudan counterpart Salva Kiir at State House on July 1, 2019. PHOTO | PSCU

Kenya has waived the requirement of obtaining a visa to enter the country for the citizens of South Sudan who hold a valid passport.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in a statement released on Monday, said this was in adherence to the Provisions of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community, and The Common Market Protocol on Free Movement of labour and persons for the citizens of partner States that was adopted on November 20, 2009.

The ministry further added that the move was occasioned by the warm and cordial relations between Kenya and South Sudan.

The Republic of South Sudan has, premised on the principle of reciprocity, in turn also waived visa requirements for Kenyans wishing to visit their country.

The ministry said the waiver of visa requirement for citizens of South Sudan takes effect immediately from Monday.

“Further, in line with Article 10 the EAC Common Market Protocol, the Workers of the two Partner States will be allowed to accept employment within the territory of each other,” read the statement.

“The visa waiver demonstrates the strong partnership and cooperation between the Republic of Kenya and the Government of the Republic of South Sudan.”

The ministry added: “It will also enhance cultural ties and strengthen the economy of both Partner States by encouraging free movement of persons and labour which are key pillars in the integration of the East African Community.”

The two countries will sign an agreement to the effect in the near future.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Former sports CS Hassan Wario convicted over Rio games scam

Citizen Reporter
Story By Citizen Reporter
More by this author