Kithure Kindiki ouster: How Senators voted

Kithure Kindiki ouster: How Senators voted
File image of Tharaka Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki. PHOTO| COURTESY

The purge on Jubilee Party rebels continued on Friday as 54 Senators voted out Deputy Speaker Kithure Kindiki over allegations of insubordination.

Only seven Senators voted against the motion to remove Kindiki while those who voted YES in absentia are Moses Wetangula, Beth Mugo and Njeru Ndwiga.

Below is a list of those who voted NO:

  • Kipchumba Murkomen
  • Susan Kihika
  • Samson Cherargei
  • Aaron Cheruiyot
  • Lang’at Christopher Andrew
  • Mithika Linturi
  • Kithure Kindiki


The rest of those who were present in the House voted YES including five nominated Senators who snubbed a Parliamentary Group meeting at State House.

Millicent Omanga, Falhada Dekow, Waqo Naomi Jillo, Prengei Victor and Mary Yiane voted for the ouster of Kithure Kindiki despite being in the red for missing the meeting.

The Jubilee Party has since started a process that could see the five face disciplinary action.

Nominated Senator Naomi Waqo however defended herself saying she was unable to travel to Nairobi due to unavoidable circumstances “that Jubilee party is aware of.”

It was at the State House meeting that the party resolved to remove Senators Susan Kihika and Kipchumba Murkomen as Majority Whip and Senate Majority leader respectively.

Kihika and Murkomen, allies to DP William Ruto, maintain that their removal was unlawful as the votes at the PG meeting did not meet the required threshhold.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Crowning of Senator Gideon Moi as Kalenjin elder rekindles battle with Ruto

Citizen Reporter
Story By Citizen Reporter
More by this author