Lockdown of Nairobi, Kiambu, Machakos, Nakuru and Kajiado explained

Lockdown of Nairobi, Kiambu, Machakos, Nakuru and Kajiado explained
An illustration of the one zoned area. PHOTO| COURTESY

The cessation of movement in and out of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru Counties that was declared on Friday by President Uhuru Kenyatta has left many wondering how the restriction will operate.

However, the government has come out to clarify that the five regions, which are geographically aligned, have been placed as a One Zoned Area and therefore residents of those counties can freely move within the five counties.

Kindly note that the Cessation of Movement is in and out of the 5 counties (Nairobi, Nakuru, Kiambu, Machakos, and Kajiado) as One Zoned Area. You can therefore move freely within the five counties. You will not however be able to leave and enter the One Zoned Area,” explained the President’s Chief of Staff Nzioka Waita.

This therefore means one can move from Nairobi to Nakuru or even from Nakuru to Kajiado but cannot get into any other county outside the One-Zoned area. On the same note, anyone outside the region covering the five counties cannot move into the One Zoned Area.

This ban of movement in and out of the counties of Nairobi, Nakuru, Kiambu, Machakos, and Kajiado takes effect at midnight Friday, March 26.

Here is an illustration of the one-zoned area. PHOTO| COURTESY





For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Guns galore

Story By Benjamin Muriuki
More by this author