Millicent Omanga among 5 Senators to be axed from Jubilee

Millicent Omanga among 5 Senators to be axed from Jubilee
Nominated Senator Millicent Omanga. Photo: Courtesy

The Jubilee Party has started a process that will see five nominated Senators who snubbed a State House meeting on Monday expelled from the party.

They include Iman Falhada Dekow, Waqo, Naomi Jillo, Prengei Victor, Mary Yiane and Millicent Omanga.

Jubilee Party Secretary General Raphael Tuju confirmed on Wednesday that the five would be facing disciplinary action.

They are said to have snubbed a Jubilee Parliamentary Group chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House.

It is at this meeting that the party resolved to remove Senators Susan Kihika and Kipchumba Murkomen as Majority Whip and Senate Majority leader respectively.

The two have since protested their ouster and moved to the High Court after Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka upheld the move despite an interim order from the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal.

The Speaker announced that the Senate now recognises KANU’s Samuel Poghisio and Jubilee’s Irungu Kanga’ta as Majority Leader and Majority Whip.

Kihika and Murkomen, allies to DP William Ruto, maintain that their removal was unlawful as the votes at the PG meeting did not meet the required threshhold.

According to Murkomen, though State House said there were 20 Senators at the meeting, there were actually 17 since the three from KANU could not have purported to speak for Jubilee.


For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | EVENTS 2020 | Raila Odinga’s reflections on 2020 and expectations for 2021 228 views

Story By Tonny Ndungu
More by this author