Namibia’s Pohamba Wins $5m Mo Ibrahim Prize

Namibia's Pohamba Wins $5m Mo Ibrahim Prize

The prize, which was founded in 2006, seeks to recognize and honour exceptional African leaders who have developed their countries and helped to alleviate poverty and promote equality.




Former President Mwai Kibaki was among leades who had been shortlisted for the Mo Ibrahim Prize.


Other leaders shortlisted included former Mozambique President Armado Guebuzza who left office last year after completing his term.


The foundation awards the prize to democratically elected leaders who have left office in a period of not more than three years.


The prize was not awarded in the years 2013, 2012 and 2009. The prize is the largest annually awarded prize in the world consisting of $5 million over ten years and US$200,000 there after.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: CAS Rachel Shebesh and athlete Asbel Kiprop share their mental health journeys

Story By Citizen
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *