Namwamba, Mbarire Replaced as Watchdog Committee Members

Namwamba, Mbarire Replaced as Watchdog Committee Members

The re-alignment of PAC comes after the majority and minority leaders of the National Assembly settled on nominees to replace embattled members.

Budalangi Member of Parliament Ababu Namwamba, who served as the chair of the committee, has been replaced by Eseli Simiyu.

Mr. Aden Duale, the majority leader, and Mr. Francis Nyenze, the minority leader, have already finalized the list of the new look public watchdog committee. 

The two leaders of the coalitions resolved to retain all members of PAC who served in previous committee except those barred from nomination in future accounts committees.

Others members of PAC replaced include deputy chair Cecily Mbarire, who has since been replaced by Kieni MP Kanini Kega, Samuel Arama replaced by Timothy Bosire of Kitutu Masaba, James Bett replaced by Bowen Kangongo of Marakwet.

The new members will seek to give a new lease to the committee that has been riddled with allegations of misuse of office and bribery after claims arose that they had accepted bribes to strike out names of public officials linked to corruption.

The list will now be tabled in the National Assembly for debate.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | BULLDOZERS FOR SANITIZERS | Families remain in the cold after evictions from Kariobangi sewage estate

Story By Citizen
More by this author