NASA MPs to boycott Uhuru Parliament address

NASA MPs to boycott Uhuru Parliament address
ANC Secretary General Godfrey Osotsi during a past press conference,he has said that NASA MPS will boycott President Kenyatta's adress to parliament today

Amani National Congress (ANC) Secretary General Godfrey Osotsi has maintained that members of Parliament allied to the National Super Alliance (NASA) will boycott President Uhuru Kenyatta’s address a joint sitting of the 12th Parliament later today.

Speaking to Citizen Digital on Tuesday morning, Osotsi faulted President Kenyatta for convening Parliament, saying that the Head of State is only enjoying temporary incumbency.

“We insist that only a validly elected president can address the first sitting of Parliament. Therefore, NASA MPs will stay clear of Parliament today,” Osotsi said.

Osotsi claimed that it is a standard practice globally for opposition legislators to boycott a president’s address to Parliament before he is officially sworn in.

His sentiments were echoed by Nairobi Women Representative Esther Passaris and Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula with the latter warning NASA MPs that they risk disciplinary action for attending the House address.

Raila Impeachment

The Secretary General scoffed at President Kenyatta’s claims that Jubilee MPs will impeach NASA leader Raila Odinga if he is elected, saying that the process of impeaching a Head of State requires valid reasons as enshrined in the law.

He also tore into a section of Western Kenya leaders who met President Kenyatta at State House on Monday branding them ‘Jubilee moles.’

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: On Viusasa, now you can download your videos and play them back later

Story By Wahome Gitonga
More by this author