New Cabinet Secretaries take oath of office

New Cabinet Secretaries take oath of office

President Uhuru Kenyatta has officially appointed all the seven Cabinet Secretaries and 19 Principal Secretaries after they were approved by Parliament on Thursday.

This comes after the National Assembly Committee on Public Appointments approved the nomination of seven Cabinet Secretary nominees it vetted last week.

The committee whose chair is Speaker Justin Muturi tabled its report on Thursday.

The other departmental committees that vetted 24 Principal Secretaries to various ministries also tabled their reports.

During the officiating ceremony, President Kenyatta urged the CSs and the PSs to ensure prosperity of all Kenyans.

“We must uproot corruption, we will run a clean government,” said President Kenyatta.

“You will be responsible for what happens in your departments, there is no excuse,” President Kenyatta warned the new appointees.

The Head of State said there will be a retreat of all Cabinet Secretaries and Principal Secretaries at the end of January 2016.

Last month, President Kenyatta made a major Cabinet reshuffle in what he termed as re-organization of the government to ensure effective and efficient service delivery.

Former Kericho Senator Charles Keter made it to the Cabinet after the Head of State nominated him as the CS for Energy to take over from Davis Chirchir who was suspended eight months ago over corruption allegations.

The Google Sub-Saharan Africa Ambassador and Country Manager for Kenya Joe Mucheru was nominated as the Cabinet Secretary for Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) taking over from Fred Matiang’i who was appointed as the CS for Education.

Matiang’i replaces Prof. Jacob Kaimenyi who heads to the Ministry of Lands as the CS.

Kenya Seed Company Managing Director Willy Bett was nominated the CS for Agriculture replacing Felix Koskei who was suspended eight months ago over graft allegations.

Former Malindi MP Dan Kazungu also made it to the Cabinet after President Kenyatta nominated him as the CS for Mining effectively replacing Najib Balala who has been moved to the Ministry of Tourism in the same Capacity.

President Kenyatta also nominated Mwangi Kiunjuri for Devolution and Planning, Dr Cleopa Mailu for health, Willy Bett for Agriculture and former Principal Secretary Sicily Kariuki for Public Service.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Guns galore

Maureen Murimi
Story By Maureen Murimi
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *