NTSA deregisters 7 PSV operators for violating regulations

File image of matatus in Nairobi. PHOTO| COURTESY
File image of matatus in Nairobi. PHOTO| COURTESY

The National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) has deregistered seven public service vehicle operators for violating transport regulations.

NTSA Director General Francis Mejja, in a statement dated October 30, 2018, said the seven saccos among them Molo Shuttle Sacco which operates the Nairobi, Nakuru and Kisii route should cease operating immediately.

“Following the violation of provisions of section 5(1) of the Natioanal Transport and Safety Authority (operation of PSV) regulations 2014, the following seven Transport Operators were deregistered from operating with effect from September 13, 2018,” reads the statement.

Also kicked out of operation is Nairobi Kiruline Services (Nairobi, Murang’a, Othaya, Nyeri, Nyahururu route) Gakanago Sacco (Nyeri, Gataragwa and Ngobit) and New Lowland Sacco (Nakuru, Marigat, Kabarnet).

Others include Hannover Commercial Enterprise (Kikuyu, Waiyaki Way, Westlands, Kasarani, Mwiki route), Newlot Sacco(Nairobi, Machakos, Makueni, Kitui, Kibwezi, Voi, Mombasa route) and and Peja Travellers Ltd (Jericho, Maringo, Jogoo Road and Temple Road).

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Benjamin Muriuki
More by this author