Petition Seeking To Disband IEBC Expected In Parliament

The petition drafted by political activist Wafula Buke was handed over to some CORD Mps yesterday at Parliament.

The petition is targetting all the nine commissioners including the chairperson Isaack Hassan and his Vice chairperson Mahiri Zaja

The other commissioners are Abdullahi Sharawe, Thomas Letangule, Mohamed Allawi Hussun, Albert Camus Onyango Bwire, Kule Galma Godana, Yusuf Nzibo and Muthoni Wangai.

The petitioner wants the National Assembly to consider the petition and initiate the process of removing all the commissioners for allegedly mishandling the 2013 elections.

The petition seeks to compel President Uhuru Kenyatta to establish a tribunal to probe IEBC for gross violation of the constitution during the last general election.

It is also alleged that “in the procurement of the Biometric Voter Registration (BVR) kits and Electronic Voter Identification Devices (EVID) during the General Election of 2013, the commissioners grossly mismanaged the use of public finances contrary to Article 201 of the constitution as read with Article 10.”

The petition however faces major challenges as the Jubilee Coalition has superior numbers in parliament better known as ‘the tyranny of numbers’.

Some of the opposition members are also against the petition making it impossible for the petition to sail through

The petition was received by CORD MPs John Mbadi (Gwasi), Junet Mohammed (Suna East MP), Gladys Wanga (Woman Representative Homa Bay County), Opiyo Wandayi (MP Ugunja) and Florence Mutua (Woman Representative, Busia County).

By Beth Nyaga

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Guns galore

Story By Citizen
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *