Polling closes countrywide but yet to start in parts of Turkana

Polling closes countrywide but yet to start in parts of Turkana
President Uhuru Kenyatta casts his ballot at Mutomo Primary school in Gatundu, Kiambu County on Tuesday, August 8, 2017. PHOTO/ Courtesy

Voting has closed with vote counting beginning in majority of polling centers.

This even as Turkana County residents anxiously wait for the exercise to kick off in at least 15 polling stations due to heavy rains that have caused logistical challenges to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) officials in delivering ballot material.

This has been revealed by IEBC chairman, Wafula Chebukati, who says 4 stations are yet to open in Turkana North, 8 in Loima, 2 in Turkana Central and one in Wajir South due to logistical challenges.

In his second media address, Chebukati added that delays were also reported at 3 stations in Laikipia North due to insecurity but police have been deployed, with a mix-up in Ndia and Nakuru East also resolved.

He, however, assured voters in affected stations that their voting time will be extended, even as he reveals the officer behind the rejected stamps on Nairobi’s Imara Daima ballots has been fired and replaced.

Chebukati has further refuted claims of pre-marked presidential ballots in Taveta and Mariakani, with CEO Ezra Chiloba intimating voter turnout of those identified by KIEMS kits stood at about 8 million by 2 pm.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Wahome Gitonga
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *