President Kenyatta nominates Philip Kinusu as EACC chair

Integrity Centre
Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission headquarters in Nairobi. PHOTO| COURTESY

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated commissioners to the ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC).

The President has nominated Mr Philip K. B. Kinusu as the chair to the commission to replace Mumo Matemu who resigned on May 12th this year.

In his resignation letter to the President, Matemu said that his action was for the greater good in the fight against corruption.

“I have tendered my resignation as the chairman of the Ethics and Ant-Corruption Commission (EACC), vide my letter addressed to H.E. The President of the Republic of Kenya, in accordance with the provisions of Section 9(B) of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Act of 2011,” read part of his letter.

“I have taken this considered decision solely for the purpose of subordinating my personal rights and interests to the greater public good in the fight against corruption.”

His resignation left EACC without commissioners after his deputy, Ms Irene Keino and Prof. Jane Onsongo resigned earlier.

The President also nominated Dabar Abdi Maalim, Paul Mwaniki Gachoka, Sophia Lepuchirit and Rose Mghoi Mtambo Macharia as commissioners to the anti-graft body.

The names of the nominees have been forwarded to the National Assembly for consideration and subsequent approval or rejection.

Should the names be approved, Mr Kinusu will be taking over a job that many people describe as one of the most challenging and has seen several former chairs of including Justice (Rtd.) Aaron Ringera and Prof. PLO Lumumba kicked out under controversial circumstances.


For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: CAS Rachel Shebesh and athlete Asbel Kiprop share their mental health journeys

Story By Koome Kimonye
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *