President Kenyatta rejects EACC Amendment Bill

President Uhuru Kenyatta has rejected the EACC Amendment Bill
President Uhuru Kenyatta in a past address

President Uhuru Kenyatta has rejected the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) Amendment Bill, which would have seen the commission’s CEO Halakhe Waqo and his deputy Michael Mubea sent home.

The Bill, sponsored by Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa, was passed by Parliament early July, with 70 members voting in support of the amendments while 39 voted against it.

The anti-graft body has faced several challenges complicated by the suspension of Mubea by the then chair Mumo Matemu for allegedly delaying investigations into multiple corruption cases.

The suspension was later revoked by Waqo, who claimed that he had not been consulted on the matter.

All EACC commissioners have since resigned claiming they were intimidated by powerful people in the government.

The drama at EACC was capped by the resignation of Commissioner Jane Osongo, Vice chair Irene Keino and chair Mumo Matemu.

Commenting on the president’s decision, Wamalwa, who is also the deputy minority whip, said he had no objection adding that the rejection of the bill will give Parliament an opportunity to address contentious issues raised.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Sossion: What is happening to KNUT is a test for labour movement in this country | NEWSNIGHT |

Story By Benjamin Wafula
More by this author