Uhuru Kenyatta sworn-in as President for second term

Uhuru Kenyatta sworn-in as President for second term

President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto have been sworn-in for their second term in office.

In front of thousands of jubilant Kenyans and several head of states, a delighted President Kenyatta and a relaxed DP Ruto took Oath of Offices as well as Oath of Execution of Duties.

Some of the heads of states who attended the ceremony included Yoweri Museveni (Uganda), Ian Khama (Botswana), Ali Bongo (Gabon), Mohamed Farmajo (Somalia), Salva Kiir (South Sudan), Edgar Lungu (Zambia), Paul Kagame (Rwanda), Ismael Guelleh (Djibouti), Hailemariam Desalegn (Ethiopia).

President Kenyatta won his second term in office after winning the October 26 repeat presidential election boycotted by his arch-rival Raila Odinga.

President Kenyatta and DP Ruto had to wait for a longer time before being inaugurated for their second term after the Supreme Court on September 1 nullified their August 8 election, after the opposition National Super Alliance (NASA) contested the results.

In April 9 2013, outgoing President Mwai Kibaki handed over the “sword of power” to Kenyatta but this time round, the latter was handed the instruments of power by Chief of Defense Forces Samson Mwathethe.

This was the 8th swearing-in in Kenya after Jomo Kenyatta (1964), Daniel Arap Moi (1978, 1992, and 1997), Mwai Kibaki (2002, 2007) and now Uhuru Kenyatta (2013, 2017).


For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Majanga Michael
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *