Waititu impeachment: How Senators voted

Waititu impeachment: How Senators voted
File image of Former Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu. PHOTO| COURTESY

Ferdinard Waititu ceased being the Governor of Kiambu County after the senate voted to uphold his impeachment on Wednesday.

The senate which was holed in a 2-day plenary sitting deliberating the matter voted on three charges he had been accused of:

Gross Violation of the Constitution & Public Finance Management Act, Crimes Under the National Law and Gross Misconduct/Abuse of Office.

The first count was supported by 27 senators while the second and third received support from 28.

Only a simple majority of 24 Senators was required to vote in support of the motion for it to pass.

A document that was shared after the sitting shows how the senators voted- based on the political affiliations.

Ruto-allies voted against the impeachment motion while Uhuru and Raila allies voted to uphold Waititu’s impeachment.

Senators Beth Mugo(nominated), Isaac Mwaura(nominated), Rose Nyamunga (nominated) Getrude Musuruve (nominated) and Abshiro Halake did not vote.

Those who voted to uphold the motion were: Mwashushe Mwaruma (Taita), Mwinyi Faki (Mombasa), Moses Kajwang’ (Homa Bay), Njeru Ndwiga (Embu), Ledama Olekina (Narok), Samson Ongeri (Kisii), James Orengo (Siaya), Samuel Poghisio (West Pokot), Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi), Margaret Jepkoech (Uasin Gishu) Amos Wako (Busia), Enock Wambua (Kitui) and George Khaniri (Vihiga), Mwadzayo Mwachirifu (Kilifi), Cleopas Malala (Kakamega), Okong’o Mogeni (Nyamira), Gideon Moi (Baringo), Boniface Mutinda (Machakos), Reubenson Kibiru (Kirinyaga), Adan Fatuma (Isiolo), Mutula Kilonzo (Makueni), Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu), Ephraim Maina (Nyeri), Ibrahim Ali (Wajir), Yusuf Haji (Garissa) andBoy Issa Juma (Kwale).

Those who voted against the motion were:

Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Kinyua Nderitu (Laikipia), Mary Yone (Nominated Senator), Moses Wetang’ula (Bungoma), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Hargura Godana (Marsabit), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Andrew Langat (Bomet), Mithika Linturi (Meru), and Anwar Loitiptip (Lamu).

While opinions are rife that Waititu’s tribulations are politically instigated, the governor landed squarely on the chopping board after he was charged over a Ksh.580 million irregular tender in July 2019.

Waititu was charged with corruption related charges alongside his wife Susan Wangari Ndung’u and eight others among them county employees.

He denied the charges and was released on a cash bail of Ksh.15 million, with the court further barring him from accessing his office.

The court ruling locking the Governor out of office escalated the supremacy battle between Waititu and his deputy Dr. James Nyoro, who immediately assumed the Governor’s office insisting he was in in control.

Waititu’s impeachment by the Senate comes as the last nail in the coffin unless he secures a second chance in the corridors of justice.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | TALES OF LAMU | Island grappling with an acute shortage of fresh water

Story By Tonny Ndungu
More by this author