‘We will not be intimidated!’ DP Ruto allies dismiss threats to de-whip them

'We will not be intimidated!' DP Ruto allies dismiss threats to de-whip them
Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa, John ‘KJ’ Kiarie of Dagoretti South and Mathira’s Rigathi Gachagua. PHOTO| COURTESY

Three Jubilee lawmakers allied to Deputy President William Ruto’s Tanga Tanga faction have dismissed threats to de-whip them from parliamentary committees as archaic politics of blackmail and intimidation.

The trio; Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa, who also chairs the Budget Committee in the National Assembly, Mathira’s Rigathi Gachagua and John ‘KJ’ Kiarie of Dagoretti South say their resolve to support Ruto’s 2022 State House bid is unshakable, despite threats of losing their seats through the recall clause.

Kimani Ichung’wa maintained that they would neither be intimidated by “threats to remove us from positions… nor even threats to recall us.”

On his part, Gachagua the ongoing clean-up in the Jubilee Party and ouster of members considered to be rebels would only serve to make them more popular.

“Intimidating leaders will go nowhere in fact it is on the reverse. The more you intimidate these leaders the more solidified the ground becomes. And even those of us they want to take to court on trumped up charges or whatever reason they will just make us more popular and more solid..We are ready. In every struggle there must be a sacrifice,” said Gachagua.

The Dagoretti South MP said it is “ill-advised” for the Jubilee Party to be concentrating on formation of coalitions in the face of the ongoing crisis.

“It is ill advised to be forming coalitions at this time. Even the branding Kenyans might end up branding you the corona coalition. Because you are being formed at a time people are looking for a solution to the coronavirus. This is not the time to be looking for realignments and coalitions,” said KJ.

Their sentiments came on the eve of the tabling of a motion to oust Senate Deputy Speaker Prof. Kithure Kindiki, for snubbing last week’s Senate Parliamentary Group meeting at State House, Nairobi.

During the State House meeting convened by President Uhuru Kenyatta the party resolved to kick out two Ruto loyalists; Kipchumba Murkomen as Majority Leader and Susan Kihika as Majority Whip.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | TALES OF LAMU | Island grappling with an acute shortage of fresh water

Story By Benjamin Muriuki
More by this author