Why IEBC had not released Kibra voters list ahead of by-election

Why IEBC had not released Kibra voters list ahead of by-election
A voter taking part in the exercise on Thursday in Kibra

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has explained why it had not released the full list of the registered voters ahead of the Kibra by-election.

Apparently, the elections body did not want to reveal confidential information to third parties.

“The commission collects personal identifiable information of voters during voter registration and the information is held in trust and confidence, to ensure confidentiality of personal identification details of voters to prevent unwarranted invasion of the privacy of an individual in compliance with article 31 of the constitution,” IEBC said.

On Wednesday, the High Court ordered IEBC to immediately release the complete Kibra voters register following a petition filed by the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM).

Justice James Makau directed that the voters list be released minus personal details of the constituents.

In the petition, ODM claimed it had written to IEBC three times since September 20 asking for the publication of the register and accused IEBC of being unresponsive.

The electoral body had sought to have the ruling suspended arguing that it needed 10 days to comply with the order.

However, in a statement dated November 6, IEBC confirmed that it had issued the voter registration list as ordered by the High Court.

“Pursuant to today’s (Wednesday’s) court order in HCC Const. Petition No. 440 of 2019 at Milimani High Court, the Court ordered the commission to release to ODM the complete register of voters in Kibra constituency that provides details of voters including Identification cards/ Passport numbers. In compliance with this order, the commission has this evening released the detailed register of voters in Kibra constituency to ODM” said IEBC.

The voting process started early morning on Thursday, and the polling stations will be open until 5pm.

There are 183 polling stations and 24 candidates vying for the seat including Imran Okoth (ODM), McDonald Mariga (Jubilee), Eliud Owalo (ANC) and Khamisi Butichi (Ford Kenya).

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Paul Ombati
More by this author