Anwar, Shah locked in close battle for Autocross crown

Azar Anwar in action during the KCB Eldoret Auto X at Chemweno farm. PHOTO/Courtesy
Azar Anwar in action during the KCB Eldoret Auto X at Chemweno farm. PHOTO/Courtesy

Seasoned local rally ace, Azar Anwar and Rehan Shah are locked in a titanic battle to land the 2017 KCB Autocross Championship title following the latest round of the event in Eldoret over the weekend.

Rehan won his first outing of the season only seconds ahead of Anwar after a stunning performance in heat three despite lagging behind by three seconds.

Azar who had lost points in Heat One drove 2:55:90 to finish second.

The seasoned driver who has been in the game for the last 45 years says he can fend of strong competition from Shah and second generation driver, McRae Kimathi who finished third.

“I am disappointed that I erred in two stages otherwise this would be my second victory after Nanyuki, but I’m optimistic victory will be mine,” the former multiple national rally champion said.

Shah tore through Heats Three and Four faster as part of his strategy that paid off as he dislodged the veteran from the top of the podium in Eldoret.

“Anwar is very fast, he knows his game very well, but I knew if I won two heats, I would be ahead by 18 seconds, and that’s what I did to win,” Shah added.

The two drivers will be the men to watch when the championship continues on April 1 and 2.

Meanwhile it was double celebration for the Baileys family with Gillian winning the 2WD Non-Turbo class as his son Ryan took the junior 2WD category.

“Autocross is my love and I always train hard for such moments, my dad has been very supportive,” Ryan told.

His mother Gillian added victory in Eldoret is a testament of great things to come.

“I will keep on winning and I believe this my year and I’m focused on lifting the crown. My game plan is simple, drive as fast as I can and rack up early victories,” the elder Bailey asserted.

Karan Sehmi saw his dreams come true in Eldoret when he rode on practice confidence to be crowned the winner in the 2WD Turbo class.

Other key contenders in the class are Sahib Omar, Nikhil Kapoor, Lovejyot Singh and Sahlien Mughal.


Auto X R 2

2WD non turbo

1. Gillian Bailey

2WD turbo Class

1. Karen Sehmi

2. Shailien Mughal

3. Imran Kakada

4WD Turbo Class

1. Rehan  Shah

2. Azar Anwar

3. Mcrea Kimathi

Bambino Class

1. Yuvraj Matharu

2. Illyun  Mughal

Junior 2WD

1.  Ryan Bailey

2. Rajvir Thethey

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Different journeys, same destiny: The story of top two candidates | KCSE 2020 |

Story By Citizen Team
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *