Clubs unveil ‘Team Change’ to sweep KRU posts

Kenya Harlequins chairman, Mike Lucas, addresses the press in Nairobi on March 9, 2016 when clubs caucus ...
Kenya Harlequins chairman, Mike Lucas, addresses the press in Nairobi on March 9, 2016 when clubs caucus announced five of their candidates for KRU polls. PHOTO/Stafford Ondego/

A clubs caucus bringing together Kenya Cup and Nationwide teams have unveiled five candidates who will contest for leadership positions at the March 16 Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) elections.

Inspired by the outfit that brought Nick Mwendwa to the helm of Football Kenya Federation, the team has also dubbed itself ‘Team Change’ resolving to wrest control of the Union from current office holders to the hands of the clubs.

With KRU chairman, Richard Omwela, still serving his term, the local rugby governing body will go to the polls as the last item on the Annual General Meeting agenda to fill other key leadership positions.

Nondescripts chairman, Thomas Opiyo will be vying for the vice-chairman’s post against the incumbent, Phillip Jalang’o whose term is ending but is up for re-election.

Impala Saracens chairman, Oduor Gangla is gunning for the Secretary General post that is held by Dennis Ombui in acting capacity since the resignation of Eddie Odhiambo under a cloud of controversy in April, last year.

Mombasa RFC boss, Joshua Aroni will vie for the Treasurer’s position with Masaku RFC chairman John Kilonzo and his Top Fry Nakuru Ali Jabri contesting for two Director’s posts.

Moses Ndale, who is the fixtures director at the Union, will defend his seat with the treasurer’s post vacant since Gabriel Ouko resigned at the March 2015 AGM that saw Omwela voted back to the helm of the governing body.

The declaration of intent to run for office is indication of the clubs resolve to manage a Union that has been embroiled in its fair share of wrangles in the past two years.

In February last year, Safari Sevens and Sevens circuit sponsors, Safaricom severed ties with the Union accusing its officials of financial misappropriation and skewed awarding of service contracts relating to the 2014 edition of the premier international event.

The company returned in time for the 2015 Safari Sevens but with a tough set of conditions in a saga that saw Odhiambo and later Ouko leave the Union as Omwela struggled to bring back investor confidence.

Further scandals on kitting of the national sevens team that remains KRU’s signature product and sustained accusations levelled at the team led by Mwangi Muthee who resigned as chairman in 2014 was alienating clubs in decision making sowed the seeds of the clubs push to re-establish control that culminated in Wednesday’s unveiling of rugby’s ‘Team Change’.

‘Team Change’ line-up

Gangla Oduor (Impala) – Secretary

Thomas Opiyo (Nondies) – Vice-Chair

Ali Jabri (Nakuru) – Director

John Kilonzo (Masaku) – Director

Joshua Aroni (Mombasa RFC) – Treasurer

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Treasury allocates Ksh 4.5 B for procurement of vaccines

Story By Mutwiri Mutuota
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *