Electrifying Stima ace Muguna crowned 2016 KPL’s finest

Kenneth Muguna of Western Stima FC celebrates scoring against Muhoroni Youth FC during their Kenyan ...
Kenneth Muguna of Western Stima FC celebrates scoring against Muhoroni Youth FC during their Kenyan Premier League match at the Moi Stadium Stadium in Kisumu on August 21, 2016. He was crowned the KPL MVP for 2016 on December 13, 2016. Photo/Oliver Ananda/www.sportpicha.com

Western Stima FC midfielder Kenneth Muguna is the 2016 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Most Valuable Player following a remarkable debut season in the domestic top flight.

Muguna was feted at the annual KPL Footballer of the Year (Foya) Awards on Tuesday night where he took home Ksh1.6m in prize money after adding the Midfielder of the Year and runner-up, New Player of the Year awards to the coveted MVP gong.

Despite ending the three-year monopoly of Gor Mahia FC and scooping their first KPL title since 2012, champions Tusker FC left the gala hall with only a single big award when their Ugandan boss Paul Nkata rose to accept the Coach of the Year award.

Muguna was the star of the night after surprising all when he voted KPL’s finest player ahead of Ulinzi Stars striker and 2016 Golden Boot winner, John Makwata, fan-favourite and Gor defender Eric ‘Marcelo’ Ouma as well as Tusker duo of David Okello and Humphrey Mieno.

It capped a stunning season for the 20 year-old that combined steel and eye-catching artistry in the middle of the pack to help propel Stima to their highest ever KPL finish of sixth.

The Henry Omino-coached side were firmly on course for a top three finish before a 1-0 loss to Bandari FC and a barren draw with Kakamega Homeboyz in their last two fixtures dropped them down in the finishing order.

The former National Super League side Palos FC player who moved to Kisumu from his native Meru in his formative years finished second to Ouma in the running for the breakthrough talent of 2016 with Calvin Odongo of Posta Rangers coming third.

Mathare United’s Whyvonne Isuza finished second in the race for Midfielder of the Year with Mieno finished third.

Besides the Ksh1.6m, Miguna who succeeded Swedish side Djurgardens IF and former Gor striker, Michael Olunga as the toast of the KPL also took home two 43-inch smart television sets and a mobile smartphone.

KPL coaches, team captains and sports journalists voted for the award winners who were unveiled at a glittering gala at a Nairobi hotel.

Posta Rangers custodian Patrick Matasi won the Golden Glove award ahead of last year’s winner Boniface Oluoch of Gor with Tusker keeper David Okelo finishing third.

Rangers’ Jockins Atudo took home the Defender of the Year gong ahead of Gor captain Musa Mohamed with veteran Sofapaka goal-scoring centre back Noah Abich rounding the top three.

There was little shock when the Coach of the Year went to Nkata who came ahead of Gor’s Marcelo Ferreira and Francis Baraza of Chemelil Sugar FC.

All winners of the 13 categories each went home with a 43 inch LG television set while runners-up were given LG G10 smart phones.

Third-place finishers were presented LG microwaves in addition to their cash prizes in an event that dished out over Ksh6m to those honoured in the annual gathering of those who excelled in the KPL.

KPL 2016 Footballer of the Year Awards

Most Valuable Player

  1. Kenneth Muguna

Team Manager of the Year

  1. George Opondo (Tusker)
  2. David Mwangi (Ulinzi Stars)
  3. Pascal Ochieng (Posta Rangers)

 Fairplay Team of the Year

  1. Kakamega Homeboyz
  2. Mathare United
  3. Western Stima

 Assistant Referee of the Year

  1. Gilbert Cheruiyot
  2. Stephen Oduor
  3. Mary Ann Njoroge

 Referee of the Year

  1. Anthony Ogwayo
  2. Davies Omweno
  3. Badr Yassin

Golden Glove Award

  1. Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)
  2. Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)
  3. David Okelo (Tusker)

Defender of the Year

  1. Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers)
  2. Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)
  3. Noah Abich (Sofapaka)

 Midfielder of the Year

  1. Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  2. Whyvonne Isuza (Mathare United)
  3. Humphrey Mieno (Tusker)

Fairplay Player of the Year

  1. Ali Bai (Kakamega Homeboyz)
  2. Jared Obwoge (Chemelil Sugar)
  3. Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar)

New Player of the Year

  1. Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia)
  2. Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  3. Calvin Odongo (Posta Rangers)

 Coach of the Year

  1. Paul Nkata (Tusker)
  2. Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia)
  3. Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar)

 Golden Boot

  1. John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)
  2. Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards)
  3. Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth)

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: KEMRI scientists examine safety of anti-malarial drugs in first trimester of pregnancy

Story By Matthews Mutai
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *