Joshua Kipkoror wins Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon

Last year's Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon winner, Joshua Kipkiror. PHOTO/Credits
Last year's Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon winner, Joshua Kipkiror. PHOTO/Credits

Joshua Kipkoror took it all at the 13th edition of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon 42 kilometer race at the Nyayo National Stadium on Sunday.

Kipkorir, 22, who trains at Kaptegat in Elgeyo Marakwet, clocked 02:13:25 to claim the top prize and pocket the Sh1.5 million grand prize.

Shadrak Kiptoo came in second in a time of 02:13:56 while Hillary Kiplimo finished third, stopping the clock at 02:14:18.

There was drama and confusion at the stadium after Julius Njogu sprinted to the finish line, beating Kipkoror, but was ruled out after it was discovered that he had cheated his way to the finish line.

He was later arrested and held in the Nyayo Stadium Police Post cells.

Meanwhile, Elizabeth Chepkanan Rumukol won the women’s 42km race in her first attempt at the full marathon after her two past attempts in the 21km half-marathon event.

Chepkanan defeated last year’s champion Georgina Jepkirui Rono, winning in a time of 02:29:32 while Rono clocked 02:32:06.

Rionotukai Chemtai finished third by clocking 02:34:46.

In other races, Patrick Kipng’eno won in the 21km half-marathon by finishing in a time of 01:02: 42 while Nicholas Kipchirchir Korir finished second in 01:02:49 followed by Geoffrey Kipyego who finished third in 01:02:58.

Purity Jebichii scooped the 21 km women’s race top price by finishing in a time of 01:02:42, while Pauline Korikwang’ and Lucy Cheruiyot finished second and third respectively.

By Charity Wanja

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | PAIN IN SERVICE | Frontline workers narrate the ordeal of fighting Covid-19

Story By Citizen
More by this author