Kajiado all set for 2016 KNRC blast off

Issa Amwari (left) and co-driver Edward Njoroge when they unveiled their new Menengai Cream sponsored ...
Issa Amwari (left) and co-driver Edward Njoroge when they unveiled their new Menengai Cream sponsored Mitsubishi Evo X on Thursday, February 25, 2016. Photo/Abdi Rizack

The long wait is over and its all systems go as the season opening round of the 2016 Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) revs off in Kajiado on Saturday.

The event organized by Kenya Motor Sports club (KMSC) will be flagged off by Kajiado governor Dr David K Nkedianye outside the local KCB Branch from 8am.

Thereafter crews will tackle a 3.3 km transport road section through to the opening stage at Kajiado Hospital which is a 40km run.

The second stage which is the longest (60 km) runs from Il-Bissel through to Enchoro TC End. The third stage is a 10 km dash runing from Marble to Parane.

Parane has been synonymous with marathon events and has been used during the last two edition of the East African Safari Classic.

Kajiado Hospital stage will be repeated twice as CS4 to make up a competitive mileage of 152km and a transport road section of 75km which was quite welcome for the crews as they underwent their daylong reconnaissance in dry and dusty conditions.

Scrutineering took place at Mountain View Shell station in Nairobi after which teams pitched camp in kajiado.

“We are all set for the event. Drivers are happy with the route which is dry and dusty unlike the event last year which was muddy and slippery. The governor of Kajiado has confirmed that he will preside over the start and finish. We urge all spectators to adhere to traffic rules through out the event,” said KMSC Vice Chiarman Raju Chana.

Meanwhile Onkar Rai is in the limelight with two of his rally cars at the hands of a Tanzanian and Kenyan driver.
His Ev10 will be driven by Jamil Khan, who is making his Kenyan debut while the Subaru Impreza gc8 will be at the hands of Carl Tundo.

Scrutineering of rally cars for the Kajiado Rally took place at the Shell Station on Nairobi’s Waiyaki Way on Friday from 8am to 3pm repeated twice to make up a total mileage of 152 km.


Start KCB Kajiado (8am)

CS1 Kajiado Hospital-Kajiado (8.13am)

CS2-Il-Bissel Enchoro (10.11am)

CS3-Marble-Parane (11.39am)

CS4-Kajiado  Hospital 2 (12.42pm)

Total Distance 228km

Transport 75km

Competitive distance 152km


1 (4) Ian Duncan /Amaar Slatch (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 – Liquid Telecom)

2 (5) Carl Tundo /Tim Jessop (Subaru Impreza – Menengai Oil)

3 (11) Onkar Rai /Gareth Dawe (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 – Kabras Sugar Racing)

4 (3) Baldev Chager /Ravi Soni (Mitsubishi Evolution 10-Kabras Sugar Racing)

5 (1) Jaspreet Chatthe Gurdeep Panesar (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 – Team Kibos)

6 (9) Manvir Baryan Drew Sturock (Ford Fiesta – Multiple Racing Team)

7 (6) Rajbir Rai /Stead Greg (Ford Fiesta – Rai Racing)

8 (92) Daren Miranda /Tony Kimondo ( Subaru Impreza GC3 – Tams Racing)

9 (2) Tapio Laukkanen /Pasi Torma (Subaru Impreza GVB13-Multiple Racing Team)

10 (121) Josiah Kariuki /Anthony Njenga (Subaru Impreza Candy & Candy Racing)

11 (10) Karan Patel /Tauseef Khan (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 – Filmico Racing)

12 (96) Issa Amwari /Edward Njorore  (Mitsubishi Evolution 10)

13 (20) Jasmeet Chana Ravinder Chana (Mitsubishi Evolution 9 – CRS Racing)

14 (23) Farhaaz Khan/ Henrie Keith (Mitsubishi Evolution 9 – Oilibya Racing)

15 (16) Pavit Kenth /Raju Sehmi (Mitsubishi Evolution 9)

16 (201) Khan Jamil /Matovu Moses  TZ TZ (Mitsubishi Evolution 9 – Sierra Zulu)

17 (29) Jansher Sandhu Feisal Khan  (Mitsubishi Evolution 9)

18 (15) Tejveer Rai Zahir Shah (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 – Kabras Sugar Racing

19 (32) Mahesh Halai Ketan Halai (Subaru Impreza N12 – Shamba Boyz Motorsport)

20 56 Virani Aakif Bhatti Azhar ( Subaru Impreza N16 – Arrow Rally Team)

21 (120) Rehan Shah George Kiama ( Subaru Impreza)

22 (37) Eric Bengi /Tony Gikuhi (Toyota RunX NAT-2WD)

23 (119) Dinesh Sachania/ Salim Khan ( Datsun 180B CLASSIC- Filmico Racing)

24 (75) Imran Khan/ Shakeel Khan (Subaru Impreza N10)

25 (45) Jonathan Somen /Richard Hechle (Ford Escort MK1 CLASSIC)

26 (86) Ramesh Vishram/Kochhar Atul (Ford Escort MK1 CLASSIC)

27 (53) Sammy Nyorri /Steve Nyorri (Toyota RunX NAT-2WD)

28 (52) Chandrakant Devji /Julius Mwachuya ( Subaru Impreza GC8 – Shajanad Racing)

29 (57) Natasha Tundo /Chantal Young (Subaru Impreza N10 – Hai Rally Chix)

30 (54) Leonardo Varese/ Kigondu Kareithi (Toyota Corolla RSI – Sports Pesa Rally Team)

31 (60) Alex Lairang’i /Anthony Gichohi (Toyota Sprinter NAT-2WD)

32 (58) Gurmit Thethy/ Harshil Limbani (VW Golf Mk 3 GTI-Thethy Motorsport)

33 (48) Adil Mirza /Adnan Din ( Mitsubish Evolution – Coast Pekee)

34 (76) Edward Maina /Steve Mbuthia (Subaru Impreza -Emka Rally Team)

35 (85) McRae Kimathi Steve Njenga (Subaru Impreza GC8 – San Valencia)

36 (200) Jas Mangat/ David Israel UG CIV (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 – Pili Pili)

37 (39) George Njoroge/ TBA (Subaru Impreza NAT-SPV)

38 (87) Geoff Mayes /Shameer Yusuf

39 (18) Izhar Mirza /Kavit Dave ( Mitsubish Evolution 9 – Coast Pekee)

40 (125) Boit Kimaru /Taita Wachira (Mitsubish Evolution 6)

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Different journeys, same destiny: The story of top two candidates | KCSE 2020 |

Story By Citizen Reporter
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *