Kapaito emerges KPL best for 2018

Justin Omary of Tusker FC contest for aerial ball with Eric Kapaito of K-Sharks FC ...
Justin Omary of Tusker FC contest for aerial ball with Eric Kapaito of K-Sharks FC during their Kenyan Premier League match at Camp Toyoyo stadium in Nairobi on July 14, 2018. Sharks FC won 5-2. Photo/Kelly Ayodi/Sportpicha

Kariobangi Sharks striker Eric Kapaito has been named the 2018 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Player of the Year in an awards ceremony held on Thursday night at the Kenya School of Government, in Lower Kabete.

Kapaito, who also won the Golden Boot award by netting 16 goals and helping his club to their maiden Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Shield title was the man of the day, taking home the New Player of the Year Award too.

Cliff Nyakeya of Mathare United scooped the Midfielder of the Year award, while Bandari’s Felly Mulumba was honored as the Defender of the Year.
His teammate Faruk Shikhalo is now the Goalkeeper of the Year award, notably outclassing Harambee Stars first choice Patrick Matasi who came in second.

Dylan Kerr was has been awarded the Coach of the Year for guiding K’Ogalo to their 17th title, with six matches to spare.

Gor lost only four games the in whole 2018, all loses coming in the tail end when they had already won the league, thus beating Ulinzi’s Dunstan Nyaudo and Sofapaka’s John Baraza in second and third places respectively.

KPL safety and Security boss GMT Otieno meanwhile received the Chairman’s Award, as Mathare United’s Vincent Okello won the Team Manager of the Year.

Full list of winners

Most Valuable Player

Coach of the year

1.Dylan Kerr (Gor Mahia)

2.Dunstan Nyaudo (Ulinzi Stars)

3.John Baraza (Sofapaka)

Goalkeeper of the year

Faruk Shikhalo (Bandari FC)

2.Patrick Matasi (Tusker FC)

3.Kevin Omondi (Sony Sugar)

Defender of the year

1.Felly Mulumba (Bandari)

2.Titus Achesa (Posta Rangers)

3.Oliver Rutto (Ulinzi Stars)

Midfielder of the year

1.Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare

2.Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars)

3.Mike Madoya

New player of the year

1.Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)

2.Marvin Nabwire (AFC Leopards)

3.Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka FC)

Most improved assistant referee

1.Gilbert Cheruiyot

2.MaryAnne Njoroge

3.Oliver Odhiambo

Most improved centre referee

1.Davies Omweno

2.Raymond Onyango

3.Badir Yasin

Team Manager of the year

1.Vincent Okello (Mathare United)

2.Christopher Ouma (Ulinzi Stars)

3.Lazarus Yogo (Zoo Kericho)

Fair play club of the year

1.Gor Mahia


3.Kariobangi Sharks

Fair play player of the year

1.Mike Madoya

2.Eric Kapaito

3.Felly Mulumba

Report by Moses Ngige and Jeremiah Lechipai

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Treasury allocates Ksh 4.5 B for procurement of vaccines

Story By Citizen Team
More by this author