Kenya to send ‘best’ amateurs to Eisenhower Trophy

Njuguna Ngugi comes from a bunker during the Barclays Kenya Open Coca-Cola Pro Am tournament ...
Njuguna Ngugi comes from a bunker during the Barclays Kenya Open Coca-Cola Pro Am tournament at the Karen Country club on March 15, 2016. Photo/Stafford Ondego/

Kenya will send three of the country’s ‘best’ amateurs to vie for the prestigious Eisenhower Trophy at the 2016 World Amateur Team Championships in Cancun, Mexico the sport’s governing body has confirmed.

They will be selected from a pool of 15 golfers who will report to a three-month training stint starting next week with the top 12 in the Golfer of the Year (GOTY) rankings already in camp.

The remaining three will be selected via wild card by top amateur cum coach, Brian Njoroge according to the Kenya Golf Union.

The team has been rocked by controversy after some of the players invited to play at the selection qualifier at Nairobi’s Muthaiga Golf Club earlier this week refused to play protesting against the new selection criteria for the national team.

“On Monday about ten amateur players boycotted the GOTY event held at Muthaiga due to indiscipline. Yet, they are not our best players. 36 played and we went on with the selection process.

“The team will camp in various courses including Naivasha, Muthaiga as we work on camping programme,” KGU chairman, Anthony Muhoro told Citizen Digital.

“The intent of the selection criteria is to provide our players a series of participation, ranking and performance benchmarks.

“For players who have goals to have success on the international stage at the amateur or professional level, we feel these benchmarks are appropriate goals to achieve so they are best prepared to have success at the international amateur or professional level,” the Union boss responded to criticism the new selection process would compromise quality.

“This process has been reviewed to remain as current as possible, reflecting the performance of today’s competitive international environment,” Muhoro underscored.

The 30th edition of the men’s Eisenhower Trophy will be played from September 21 to 24 and will be hosted by the Mexican Golf Federation (FMG) under the umbrella of International Golf Federation.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | BULLDOZERS FOR SANITIZERS | Families remain in the cold after evictions from Kariobangi sewage estate

Story By Charity Wanja
More by this author