Kenyans chase honours at Cape Town Marathon

Ethiopian Asefa Mengstu Negewo wins the 2016 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon. (PHOTO/Organisers)
Ethiopian Asefa Mengstu Negewo wins the 2016 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon. (PHOTO/Organisers)

A crop of elite athletes who have made a mark in marathon running in the recent pasts are among competitors who have confirmed their participation at the Sanlam Cape Town Marathon scheduled for September 17.

Laban Mutai’s personal best (PB) of 2.08:01 registered in Koln, Germany marks him out as the man to lead the Kenyan charge in the men’s field and the country’s best bet in its bid to dethrone Asefa Negewo of Ethiopia as champion.

Four other men in the field – Ethiopian Seboka Nigusee (2:09.14), Duncan Maiyo of Kenya (2:09.25*), Samuel Maswai (2.08:52*, Berlin 2013) and Lesotho’s Motlokoa Nkhabula (2:09.47*) – have dipped below the sub 2:10 mark and will no doubt fancy their chances of success in the continent’s first ever Gold Label Marathon.

In the women’s race, Agnes Jepkemboi Kiprop (2.23:54*, Frankfurt 2011) and Doris Chepkwemoi Changeywo (2.31.50*, Wien, Germany) will be taking on the scenic course in one of Africa’s most visited cities.

Kiprop has the fastest Gold label time in the women’s field but will compete, Irvette Van Zyl the fastest South African in the field with a PB of 2:31.39.

According to the race organisers, last year’s Women’s and Men’s winners respectively, Britain’s Tish Jones and Negewo, have also confirmed that they will be defending their titles.

During last year’s race, Negewo broke the standard marathon record running the fastest marathon ever on South African soil.

The route this year has been modified to make it even faster with the elimination of several turns, thereby giving both local and international athletes the chance to chase record times and personal bests.

Pacers, introduced last year, will once again play an integral role in enabling runners to achieve record-breaking times.

(* denotes PB)


  1. Laban Mutai (KEN) 2.08.01
  2. Asefa Negewo (ETH) 2.08.41
  3. Samuel Maswai (KEN) 2.08.51
  4. Seboka Nigusse (Erre) 2.09.14
  5. Duncan Maiyo (KEN) 2.09.25
  6. Motlokoa Nkhabutla (LES) 2.09.47
  7. Abraham Habte (ER) 2.11.56


  1. Agnes Jepkembpi Kiprop (KEN) 2.23.54
  2. Betelhem Moges (ETH) 2.24.29
  3. Fantu Eticha (ETH) 2.26.14
  4. Lisa Hahner (GER) 2.28.39
  5. Doris Chepkwemoi Changeywo (KEN)2.31.50
  6. Tish Jones (UK) 2.33.56
  7. Genet habela abdurkadir (ETH) Debut
  8. Meseret (Asefaw) Taye (ETH) Debut

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Sossion: What is happening to KNUT is a test for labour movement in this country | NEWSNIGHT |

Story By Philip Muchiri
More by this author