Nock president in waiting Tergat ‘lost for words’

Paul Tergat during his official campaign launch for the Nock Chairmanship ahead of the May 5 ...
Paul Tergat during his official campaign launch for the Nock Chairmanship ahead of the May 5 elections. (PHOTO/Tracy Benta)

Five-time World Cross Country champion Paul Tergat said he was lost for words as he went from challenger to the National Olympics Committee of Kenya (Nock) President in waiting following a late dramatic twist in the race for the embattled national body’s top seat.

His ascent to the Nock presidency was given the clear way after incumbent Dr. Kipchoge Keino – his only other challenger – failed to formalize his bid for reelection during the May 5 polls.

The announcement was made on Wednesday by the Center for Multiparty Democracy Kenya (CMD-Kenya) – the body that would oversee its election process – marking the end of Kipchoge’s reign spanning nearly two decades and giving the body a new leadership for the first time since 1999.

Tergat, a former world marathon record holder, saluted his would-be predecessor as he braces up to take over the mantle and vowed to champion an all-inclusive leadership.

“I’m lost for for words to express the feeling I have right now. Kipchoge has always been a statesman, a legend but more importantly he is a leader. He has demonstrated good leadership by not making his bid formal because I think he knew it was high time he left the stage.

“It’s now up to the younger leadership, myself, to try their best in taking Nock to the next level. I’d like to appreciate each federation and their heads; the people I will be working with indiscriminately. We are known worldwide as a sporting nation and it is my will to uphold and enhance this status,” Tergat told Citizen Digital.

The race, however, might have yet tilted in his favour with the retired track and cross country legend’s bid to topple Kipchoge having received overwhelming support early this month when he officially launched his campaign.

He won valuable endorsements from top federation chiefs among them Athletics Kenya (AK), Football Kenya Federation (FKF) and Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) – all present at the launch to give the clearest indication he would go on to sweep the boards during the Nock polls.

Kenya Table Tennis Federation (KTTF), Kenya Hockey Union (KHU), Kenya Judo Association (KJA), Boxing Association of Kenya (BAK), Kenya Lawn Tennis Association (KLTA) and Kenya Sports Shooting Federation (KSSF) were other national governing bodies that endorsed his candidature.

Rio Olympics 5,000m silver medalist Helen Obiri and rugby ace Humphrey Khanyange will also go unopposed as the female and male athletes’ representatives.

“First of all Obiri is an Olympian and we are going to the Olympics Committee, I think she deserves that though there are other Olympians too, But somebody has got to be selected as at the end of the day.

“I’m very happy as Athletics Kenya (AK) we are represented everywhere including at the IAAF, CAA and now Nock,” AK boss Lt. Gen. (Rtd) Jackson Tuwei who is vying for the second Vice President position at Nock said.

According to Nock Secretary General Francis Kinyili Paul, the Electoral College will be 22 composed of only 19 federations, Athlete Representative (female), women representative and IOC (International Olympics Committee) member.

Hence, even if the Sports Tribunal gives either of the Kenya Rowing & Canoe Association factions a green light to vote the final world will be from the IOC.

“The federation was barred from the transition process of Nock hence we have to consult with the IOC first since they had not fully complied with their requirements,” Kinyili stated as he prepares to defend his seat.

While first vice president hopeful, Shadrack Maluki’s faction from the embattled KJA was given the go ahead by the Tribunal.

“Everything has been working well for me and yesterday (Tuesday) at the tribunal. We saw it coming because we held our elections fair and free only that some people did not want to accept defeat,” Maluki lamented.


  1. President

Paul Tergat (Athletics) – Unopposed

  1. First Vice president

Shadrack Maluki (Judo)

Nahashon Randiak (Hockey)

  1. Second Vice president

Waithaka Kioni (Volleyball)

Jackson Tuwei (Athletics)

  1. Secretary General

F.K Paul (Handball)

Andrew Mudibo (Table Tennis)

John Kilonzo (Rugby)

  1. Deputy Secretary General

James Chacha (Taekwondo)

Francis Mutuku (Tennis)

Timothy Nabea ((Football)

John Ogolla (Weightlifting)


  1. Treasurer

Elynah Shiveka (Hockey)

Ann Njambi (Badminton)

Eliud Kariuki (Wrestling)

  1. Deputy Treasurer

Stephen Soi (Taekwondo)

Charles Mose (Cycling)

Dr Paul Rwambo (Golf)

John Kameta (Boxing)

  1. Committee members

Catherine Ndereba (Athletics)

Julius Mwangi (Cycling)

Paul Otula (Basketball)

Suleiman Sumba (Taekwondo)

Mohammed Shuaib (Shooting) 

  1. Women Representative

Tegla Loroupe (Athletics)

Paurvi Rawal (Tennis)

Roselyn Njeri (Swimming)

Peter Muchiri (Badminton)

  1. Athletes’ Representatives


Humphrey Kayange (Rugby) – Unnoposed


Hellen Obiri (Athletics) – Unopposed

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: On Viusasa, now you can download your videos and play them back later

Story By Charity Wanja
More by this author