Paris champion Jepkesho eases to Chemususu victory

Visiline Jepkesho, the 2016 Paris Marathon winner competes in the 10000m women final during the 2016 Kenya ...
Visiline Jepkesho, the 2016 Paris Marathon winner competes in the 10000m women final during the 2016 Kenya Prisons Inter-Regional Athletics, Darts & Volleyball Championships at Nyayo National Stadium in Nairobi, Kenya on May 07, 2016. Photo/StaffordOndego/

Olympics fifth finisher and Paris marathon winner; Visiline Jepkesho and Isaac Kipkoech took the women and men 21km honours during the third running of the Chemususu Half Marathon in Baringo County on Saturday.

Jepkesho, who is preparing for a showdown with Rio 2016 5000m champion, Vivian Cheruiyot, in the streets of Chicago next month, proved her class with a dominant 1:18:54 victory as Esther Chesang (1:19:27) and Vivian Kiplagat (1:19:35) finished further adrift in second and third to fill the podium.

Little-known Kipkoech who was warming up for the Toronto Marathon next month won the corresponding men’s race after the closest of finishes from Amos Mitei with both given 1:09:10 but separated on split timing in a furious last sprint for the title.

Shadrack Kimining led the challengers home in 1:12:00 for third in the event where the 21km race winners took home Ksh150,000 each.

Fresh from winning at the same distance at Ndakaini Half Marathon last week, Ronald Kiprotich was forced to accept second place in the men 10K road race by the superior finish of Jorum Okumbo who stopped the timer at 33:24.

Former junior champion, Irene Jebet proved her class in the women’s 10K by running 37:53 for the victory ahead of Rebecca Chesir (38:08) and Sandra Jebet (38:22).

Baringo County Senator, Gideon Moi, Deputy Governor, Matthew Tuitowek and are Member of Parliament, Moses Lessonet were among are leaders present at the event.

Elsewhere, African 5000m champion Sheila Chepkurui, won the Safaricom Kericho 10km Road Race women’s title after clocking 36:16 as the 2015 Yellow River Estuary International Marathon winner, Ernest Ng’eno won the men’s race in 29:16.

Patrick Kipng’eno took second in 29:22, beating Dennis Chepkwony who came in third with a time of 29:45 while Fancy Chemutai (32:21) and Sheila Chelangat (32:36) filled the rostrum in the women’s showdown.

The race attracted participants from various parts of the country including Kapsoit, Kisii, Bomet, Litein, Kapsabet and Kericho.

Top male and female athletes walked away with Kshs35,000, Kshs20,000 and Kshs10,000 for the first three positions in that order

Safaricom Kericho 10km Road Race leading results


  1. Ernest Ng’eno – 29:16
  1. Patrick Kipng’eno – 29:22
  1. Dennis Chepkwony – 29:45
  1. Charles Bore – 29:54
  1. Philip Koech – 29:57
  1. Hillary Chepkwony – 30:01
  1. Davis Kiplangat – 30:05
  1. Eliud Mwangi – 30:12
  1. Stanley Koech – 30:18
  1. Reuben Kemboi – 30:22

 Women 10km

  1. Sheila Chepkurui – 36:16
  1. Fancy Chemutai – 32:21
  1. Sheila Chelangat – 32:36
  1. Pamela Cherotich – 32:47
  1. Damaris Cheptoo – 33:17
  1. Joan Chelimo – 33:25
  1. Emmy Chepkurui – 33:47
  1. Betty Chepkwony – 34:19
  1. Eulita Tonui – 35:31
  1. Caroline Nyangawa – 35:60

Additional reporting by Charity Wanja

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Different journeys, same destiny: The story of top two candidates | KCSE 2020 |

Story By William Sawe
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *