Put puzzle as Leopards ace Oburu opts out of Cecafa

The National Football Team Harambee Stars coach Belgian Paul Put talk to players during open ...
The National Football Team Harambee Stars coach Belgian Paul Put talk to players during open media session at Utalii Grounds on November 30, 2017. Photo/Stafford Ondego/www.sportpicha.com

AFC Leopards striker Vincent Oburu is set to become the fourth player to withdraw from the national team ahead of the Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup, posing a fresh squad debacle for newly appointed head coach Paul Put.

The Belgian tactician omitted three of eight strikers named in the provisional Harambee Stars squad with Oburu preferred alongside Masoud Juma, Kepha Aswani and George Odhiambo.

Ulinzi Stars hitman Stephen Waruru, Benjamin Mosha (Sony Sugar) and Nicholas Kipkirui (Zoo Kericho FC) were left out of the final squad released on Thursday.

Citizen Digital has learnt Oburu will attend trials at the Czech Republic beginning December 3  – the same day the Cecafa tournament is set to kick off – thus rendering him unavailable for selection.

“It is true he will be going for a two-week trials. He will not be available for Harambee Stars because the trials period corresponds with the dates for Cecafa. It is a good opportunity for him to advance his career,” an insider within the Leopards camp revealed.

However, details about the clubs from which he got the invite are yet to be disclosed.

Oburu had an impressive debut season for Ingwe in 2017, scoring eight goals for the Kenyan Premier League (KPL) giants and was also on target as his side defeated Kariobangi Sharks 2-0 to lift this year’s GOtv Shield.

Put will therefore have to rely on Kariobangi Sharks and KPL 2017 Golden Boot winner Juma, Nakumatt FC’s top scorer Aswani and Gor Mahia forward Odhiambo.


Full Squad:


Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Gabriel Andika (AFC Leopards), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)


Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Charles Momanyi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Dennis Shikhayi (AFC Leopards), Isaac Kipyegon (Zoo Kericho), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Wellington Ochieng (Gor Mahia), Wesley Onguso (Sofapaka)


Chrispin Ochieng (Mathare United), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahia), Ovellah Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Said Tsuma (Thika United), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi Stars), Whyvonne Issuza (AFC Leopards)


Kepha Aswani (Nakumatt), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Masoud Juma (Kariobangi Sharks), Vincent Oburu (AFC Leopards).

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | WESTLANDS UNDERWORLD | Crooks, gov’t officials named in plot to grab man’s property

Story By Jacob Icia
More by this author