Ronaldo, Katinlka crowned AIPS Europe sports persons of 2016

Real Madrid's Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo speaks during the official presentation of his contract renewal, ...
Real Madrid's Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo speaks during the official presentation of his contract renewal, in the presidential box at the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium in Madrid on November 7, 2016. PHOTO/GERARD JULIEN / AFP

For the first time in their careers, Cristiano Ronaldo and Hungarian Hosszu Katinlka – three time Olympic winner and swimming legend – are the winners in the 2016 Edition of the European Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards.

Ronaldo -one of the leading figures in the world of football- won the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid and led Portugal to lift their first European crown besides being the 2016 Ballon d’Or winner and was followed by tennis ace Andy Murray and Formula 1 championship winner Nico Rosberg.

Katinka got more preferances than German tennis player Angelique Kerber and British cyclist Laura Trott.

It was the 34th annual poll conducted by AIPS – EUROPE through the world wide poll held by AIPS.

As the biggest continental section of AIPS that was established in 1977 at the AIPS Congress in Milan, Marittima, AIPS Europe celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2016.

Since 2003, the annual poll was named the Frank Taylor Trophy in honour of the former president of both AIPS and UEPS.

Eventually the European Sportswoman Awards was named for former leading UEPS official Evgen Bergant.


MEN – Frank Taylor Trophy

2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), football

2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbia), tennis

2014 Manuel Neuer (Germany), football

2013 Mo Farah (Great Britain), athletics

2012 Novak Djokovic (Serbia), tennis

2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbia), tennis

2010 Sebastian Vettel (Germany), Formula 1 motor racing

2009 Roger Federer (Switzerland), tennis

2008 Rafael Nadal (Spain), tennis

2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland), tennis

2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland), tennis

2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland), tennis

2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland), tennis

2003 Michael Schumacher (Germany), Formula 1 motor racing

2002 Michael Schumacher (Germany), Formula 1 motor racing

2001 Michael Schumacher (Germany), Formula 1 motor racing

2000 Pieter van Hoogenband (Netherland), swimming

1999 Tomas Dvorak (Czech Republic), athletics

1998 Bjoern Daehlie (Norway), cross country skiing

1997 Wilson Kipketer (Denmark), athletics

1996 Alexander Popov (Russia), swimming

1995 Jonathan Edwards (Great Britain), athletics

1994 Michael Schumacher (Germany), Formula 1 motor racing

1993 Linford Christie (Great Britain), athletics

1992 Vitaly Scherbo (Commonwealth of the Independent States), gymnastics

1991 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union), athletics

1990 Lothar Matthaeus (Germany), football

1989 Boris Becker (Germany), tennis

1988 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union), athletics

1987 Stephen Roche (Ireland), cycling

1986 Boris Becker (Germany), tennis

1985 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union), athletics

1984 Michel Platini (France), football

1983 Michael Gross (Germany), swimming

WOMEN – Evgen Bergant Trophy

2016 Katinka Hosszu (Hungary), swimming

2015 Dafne Schippers (Netherlands), athletics

2014 Darya Domracheva (Belarus), biathlon

2013 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), athletics

2012 Jessica Ennis (Great Britain), athletics

2011 Federica Pellegrini (Italy), swimming

2010 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia), athletics

2009 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia), athletics

2008 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), athletics

2007 Justine Henin (Belgium), tennis

2006 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium), tennis

2005 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), athletics

2004 Kelly Holmes (Great Britain), athletics

2003 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium), tennis

2002 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium), tennis

2001 Svetlana Khorkina (Russia), gymnastics

2000 Inge de Bruijn (Netherland), swimming

1999 Gabriela Szabo (Romania), athletics

1998 Larissa Lazutina (Russia), cross-country skiing

1997 Martina Hingis (Switzerland), tennis

1996 Svetlana Masterkova (Russia), athletics

1995 Steffi Graf (Germany), tennis

1994 Manuela Di Centa (Italy), cross-country skiing

1993 Franziska van Almsick (Germany), swimming

1992 Krisztina Egerszegi (Hungary), swimming

1991 Monica Seles (Yugoslavia), tennis

1990 Katrin Krabbe (Germany), athletics

1989 Steffi Graf (Germany), tennis

1988 Kristin Otto (GDR), swimming

1987 Steffi Graf (Germany), tennis

1986 Heike Drechsler (GDR), athletics

1985 Marita Koch (GDR), athletics

1984 Marja-Liisa Kirvesniemi (Finland,)cross-country skiing

1983 Jarmila Kratochvilova (Czechoslovakia), athletics

-Report by AIPS

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Former sports CS Hassan Wario convicted over Rio games scam

Story By Agencies
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *