Super 8 CL champions TUK lead gala nominations list

TUK lift the 9th edition of the Super 8 Champions League. PHOTO/Credits.
TUK lift the 9th edition of the Super 8 Champions League. PHOTO/Credits.

Champions League winners, Technical University of Kenya (TUK) FC lead the nomination list of the Super 8 Gala that will be held in Nairobi on Friday.

TUK has nominees for Most Valuable Player (Jeconiah Uyoga Omondi), Golden Glove (Paul Maina) and Coach of the Year (Lukas Aluoch) with the team also nominated as the most disciplined and best enterprising.

Former Nairobi City Stars striker Francis Thairu now of Kawangware United will battle it out with NYSA’s Robinson Shitandi for the golden boot award with the former having scored 26 goals in the Super 8 Premier League, one less than Shitandi’s tally in the Super 8 Division One League.

A total of 20 standout stars and 11 teams listed in ten categories of the recently concluded first season of the three-tier league will be awarded during the ceremony that will be hosted by Extreme Sports Limited.

The event seeks to highlight and celebrate a successful inaugural season as well as to recognize exceptional performances during the competition which has given rise to local community football heroes.

“It has been a great year for the history of grass root football in Kenya and Extreme Sports Limited is proud to be part of it and this is why we have made arrangements to celebrate the efforts made by teams and players in a special way through the Super 8 Gala night which inspirational event that seeks to reward the best performances of the season.

Every player and team that participated in the league performed well making the season a success and it is time to recognise the most outstanding individuals while encouraging other participants to do even better come next season,” Bernadette Kagechu, the Business Development Manager at Extreme Sports Limited said.

Each category contains 3 nominees who were selected by the organisers but the winner will be selected by a panel of 15 coaches from the league after keen analysis of the records and overall performances of the players, teams and match officials during the just concluded campaign.

TUK signed off the season by sweeping the Super 8 Champions League title, one of four that was on the offing by the league. Kayole Asubuhi clinched the Super 8 Premier League while NYSA tucked the Super 8 Division One League. River of God (ROG FC) won the 10th edition of the Super 8 Soccer Tournament.

TUK added the Champions League crown to their Western Conference title to take home Ksh500,000 with the beaten Eastern Conference champions taking home Ksh250,000 in the annual tournament.





  1. Francis Thairu – Kawangwre United (26 goals in SportPesa Super 8 Premier League)
  2. Robinson Shitandi – NYSA (27 goals in SportPesa Super 8 Division One League)


  1. Jeconiah Uyoga Omondi (TUK FC)
  2. Joel Mutua Mwanzia (KayoleAsubuhi FC)
  3. Victor Walerah (Jericho All Stars)


  1. Paul Maina (TUK FC)
  2. John Macharia (KayoleAsubuhi FC)
  3. Erick Ogweda (Jericho All Stars)


  1. John Mutua -18 years (NYSA)
  2. Zidane Ochieng’-16 Years (Makadara Junior League)
  3. Bilal Hashim-17 Years (Angola FC)


  1. Isaiah Omondi (KayoleAsubuhi)
  2. Dan Juma (Ajax FC)
  3. Lukas Aluoch (TUK)


  1. Ken Juma
  2. JumaTurke
  3. Amos Ichingwa


  1. Judy Wamoro
  2. Moses KuolMalual
  3. Grace Mumbe


  1. Diguna FC
  2. Technical University of Kenya (TUK FC)
  3. Shamako Babes FC



  1. Metro Sports FC
  2. KayoleAsubuhi FC
  3. MeltahKabiria FC
  4. TUK FC


  1. SportPesa Super 8 Champions League- TUK FC
  2. SportPesa Super 8 Premier League – KayoleAsubuhi FC
  3. SportPesa Super 8 Division One League –NYSA
  4. SportPesa Super 8 Tournament- River of God (ROG FC)

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Different journeys, same destiny: The story of top two candidates | KCSE 2020 |

Story By Matthews Mutai
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *