Tenga plays down Hayatou influence in CAF representative seat

Tanzania's Leodegar Tenga during a past function. (PHOTO/COURTESY)
Tanzania's Leodegar Tenga during a past function. (PHOTO/COURTESY)

Tanzania’s Leodegar Tenga is confident he will overcome stiff competition from Ghanaian Kwesi Nyantakyi to win the Anglophone representative category seat to the FIFA Council.

Ahead of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Assembly in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on March 16, Tenga played down reports that there was CAF President Issa Hayatou was behind the withdrawal of Kalusha Bwalya, a former Zambia Football Federation (FAZ) President from the race in his favor.

Hayatou who is seeking an eighth term as head of the continental body was in Zambia where he brokered reconciliation between Bwalya and his archrival, Andrew Kamanga who became his successor at FAZ.

“Nobody has been endorsed for this before and after Kalusha’s exit from the race. Hayatou was doing what any leader would have done in such a situation when he visited Zambia.
“He told Kamanga to appreciate Kalusha’s knowledge of the sport as he advocated for a peaceful transition,” Tenga stated.

The Kalusha and Kamanga rift is said to have widened following the latter’s stunning win over the former at the 2016 FAZ AGM.

Their rivalry had seen allegations of a pro-Kalusha camp undermining the Kamanga regime.

The Arabic, Portuguese and Spanish category will see Hani Abo Rida of Egypt contest against Tunisia’s Tarek Bouchamoui, while Augustin Sidy Diallo and Omari Constant Selemani of Ivory Coast and DR Congo will battle for the Francophone category.

The open category for members to the FIFA council that has three positions to be filled with at least one female candidate, has attracted Chabur Goc of South Sudan, South Africa’s Danny Jordaan, Guinea’s Almamy Camara and Lydia Nsekera of Burundi.

The CAF Executive Committee members will be elected from North Zone (Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia), West A Zone (Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal and Sierra Leone and West Zone B with Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria and Togo.

The Central Zone is composed of Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Chad, Congo, Gabon, DR Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Sao Tome & Principe, while Central East has Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

However, Eritrea will not be participating with their nationals banned from entering Ethiopia.

The last block has Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, CAF members will vote to admit Zanzibar as full member, a request presented by Tanzania.

Until today, Zanzibar is not recognized by the continental body as an independent entity.

Full list of positions and contestants.

Election of CAF President.

Outgoing: Issa Hayatou President (Cameroon)

Candidates: Ahmad Ahmad (Madagascar)


Issa Hayatou (Cameroon).

Elections for CAF Executive Committee Northern Zone

Outgoing member: Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria)

Candidates: Anwar El Tashani (Libya)

Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)

Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria)

West Zone A

Outgoing member: Amadou Diakite (Mali)

Candidates: Amadou Diakite (Mali)

Hassan Musa Bility (Liberia)

West Zone B

Outgoing member: Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin)

Candidates: Amaju Melvin Pinnick (Nigeria)

Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin)

Central Zone

Outgoing member: Adoum Djibrine (Chad)

Candidates: Adoum Djibrine (Chad)

Central-East Zone

Outgoing member: Magdi Shams El Din (Sudan)

Candidates: Juneidi Basha Tilmo (Ethiopia)

Magdi Shams El Din (Sudan)

Moses Magogo (Uganda)

Suleiman Hassan Waberi (Djibouti)

Southern Zone (2 Vacancies)

Outgoing members: Ahmad (Madagascar)

Suketu Patel (Seychelles)

Candidates: Danny Jordaan (South Africa)

Frans Mbidi (Namibia)

Rui Eduardo Da Costa (Angola)

Suketu Patel (Seychelles)

Female Candidate (1 vacancy)

Candidates: Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone)

Lydia Nsekera (Burundi)

Election of African representatives to the FIFA Council

Arabic, Portuguese and Spanish Grouping

Tarek Bouchamaoui (Tunisia)

Francophone Grouping

Constant Omari Selemani (DR Congo)

Augustin Sidy Diallo (Cote d’Ivoire)

Anglophone Grouping

Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana)

Leodegar Tenga (Tanzania)

Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia)

Open applications (3 vacancies, including one female member)

Almamy Kabele Camara (Guinea)

Chabur Goc (South Sudan)

Danny Jordaan (South Africa)

Hani Abo Rida (Egypt)

Lydia Nsekera (Burundi)

Elections will be conducted at the new African Union Headquarters, Addis Ababa.


-Jacob Icia is reporting from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Guns galore

Story By Jacob Icia
More by this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *